Strawberry Cookies ‘n Cream Ice Cream Cake

I was going to share this ice cream cake with you last week, but single digit temperatures had me longing for hot chocolate, not frozen chocolate cake with strawberry ice cream.  But!  Good news.  It was *so* nice out over the weekend.  So nice that I was able to run in shorts.  So nice that I tested out the moonroof in my new car while sipping an iced coffee (with my coat on).  And, so nice that I was wishing I still had some of this strawberry cookies ‘n cream ice cream cake.

I’ve always been pretty good at math, so you can trust me when I tell you that dark chocolate cake + strawberry ice cream + Oreos + hot fudge + Cool Whip = chilly deliciousness.  Don’t ask me what made me think to stir crushed Oreo cookies into strawberry ice cream… but, let’s be serious, can you think of anything Oreo cookies wouldn’t be good in?  I bet they’d even be good in Easy Mac. 😉

This was my first ever ice cream cake making adventure, made for my favorite (only) brother’s birthday, and I’m pretty sure I have a few more ice cream cakes in my future!  The possibilities are endless…

[print_this]Strawberry Cookies ‘n Cream Ice Cream Cake

Rich chocolate cake is topped with a layer of strawberry ice cream with crushed Oreo cookies, then topped with a simple chocolate whipped cream-like frosting.  No one will ever guess how easy it is to prepare!

Serves 12

Prep time: 20 minutes

Cook time: 30 to 40 minutes

Freeze time: 5 hours (to overnight)

  • 1 boxed chocolate cake mix (& oil, eggs, water called for)
  • 2 pints strawberry ice cream
  • 15 Oreo cookies, crumbled
  • 4 ounces Cool Whip, thawed
  • 6 ounces hot fudge sauce

Prepare the chocolate cake mix as instructed (I used a 10-inch springform pan, but you can use whatever pan you like).  Allow the cake to cool completely.

Meanwhile, allow the ice cream to soften enough that it can be stirred.  Once softened, stir the crumbled Oreo cookies into the ice cream.  Spread the ice cream over the cooled cake; freeze 30 minutes to 1 hour.

Meanwhile, in a small mixing bowl, stir the Cool Whip and hot fudge until blended.  Spread over top of the ice cream layer.  Freeze the cake at least 4 hours (or until frozen – I froze mine overnight).  For easier slicing, allow the cake to stand at room temperature before serving (time will vary depending on your kitchen temperature!).[/print_this]

11 thoughts on “Strawberry Cookies ‘n Cream Ice Cream Cake”

    1. You dared me, now I have to! I’m not even kidding, I really am going to try this… but I’m going to wait until the weekend, because it seems a little wild and crazy for a weeknight. 🙂

Leave a Reply

