{I Bleed Orange} Blood Orange Chobani Cookies

Close runner-up to the above cookie recipe names:  “Let’s CHO Orange” Cookies. 🙂

I mention my interest in Syracuse basketball occasionally here on the blog, but probably do a poor job of conveying just how interested I am… basically, like 99% of Central NY natives, Syracuse basketball pretty much runs straight through my veins.  I bleed orange. 😉

In case you don’t follow college basketball… Syracuse has been #1 in the nation for five straight weeks.  Which, in addition to making for an extra thrilling January, also makes getting dressed for games much easier.  I’ve sported a “We’re #1” shirt six games in a row now and, in recent developments, am now afraid to wash it.  Yep, I’m one of those fans.  You better believe I’m knocking on wood as I share these festive cookies with you.

A few weeks ago, in the spirit of the (basketball) season, I had the idea to make an orange-flavored cookie.  Then, when I saw that Chobani — who also calls CNY home — had rolled out one of its newest flavors, blood orange, I knew I had to incorporate the good stuff into the cookies.  They’d be… I bleed orange cookies. 🙂

I’ll admit, I’d never had a blood orange before I tried the new Chobani flavor, and actually still have yet to try the deep red oranges.  But if that tangy yogurt is any indication of what a blood orange is like… call me their soon-to-be #1 fan.  Citrus explosion!  Yum.

Candy melts aren’t just for cake pops (or frozen cake batter pops, for that matter).  Stuff ’em in cookie dough!  They’ll be all… melty… and you’ll never ever want to stop eating cookies.

Just make sure you chant “Let’s CHO Orange” a few times while you eat them. 😉

[print_this]Blood Orange Chobani Cookies

 Soft, cake-like cookies with a burst of citrus flavor from Blood Orange Chobani and orange zest.  Filled with candy melts, these are best served warm out of the oven.

Makes 2 1/2 dozen cookies

Prep time: 20 minutes

Cook time: 12 minutes (per cookie sheet)

  • 1/4 cup butter, softened
  • 1 (6-ounce) container Chobani Blood Orange Greek yogurt
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • Juice of 1 blood orange (or regular orange)
  • 2 teaspoons orange zest
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • Orange candy melts

Heat the oven to 350 degrees F.  Line cookie sheets with parchment paper.

In a large mixing bowl, beat the butter, yogurt, and sugars until creamy.  Add the eggs and orange juice, stirring until well blended.  Add the orange zest, baking soda, and salt; stir until mixed well.  Gradually add the flour, 1/2 cup at a time, until mixed well and soft dough forms.

Use a 1-inch cookie scoop to drop spoonfuls of cookie dough onto prepared cookie sheets.  Place one candy melt in the center of each cookie, then top with another scoop of cookie dough.  Use a spoon or floured fingers to smooth the cookie dough over the candy melt.

Bake 10-12 minutes or until edges are light golden brown.  Allow the cookies to cool 2 minutes before removing from cookie sheets to cool completely.  If desired, decorate the cookies with candy melts.[/print_this]

20 thoughts on “{I Bleed Orange} Blood Orange Chobani Cookies”

    1. Yep, Greek yogurt is a good way to limit butter in cookie recipes… they don’t end up as crisp as a good old chocolate chip cookie, but you know, just as tasty!

  1. This is super creative! And makes me miss SU.
    I love blood oranges and I have the new chobani flavor in my fridge. I haven’t tried it yet. Perhaps tonight! I did try the new apple cinnamon and loved it. I’m really looking forward to the blood orange after this post.

Leave a Reply

