DIY: Box of Homemade Chocolates

Please refrain from critiquing my elementary art skills.  I’m quite proud of them. 😉

I’ve been getting back to my roots in the kitchen lately, and by that I mean, rather than walking into the kitchen knowing fully well what I’m going to make, I just sort of let things flow.  Grab this, throw in that, and see what happens.  I think that’s when I have my craziest most creative ideas.  Really though, it’s quite liberating!

My most recent random kitchen concoction came last weekend, when what started as a simple batch of dark chocolate peanut butter cups with sea salt quickly morphed into arts and crafts time!  See, I was prepping a birthday food package to send to my sister — today is her birthday, everybody say, Happy Birthday! — while eating a Larabar, when I thought to myself, gosh, a chocolate covered Larabar would be delicious.  Soon after, I had Larabar chocolate cups setting on the counter.

And then I went on to make eight other types of chocolate cups.

What’s that, you don’t believe me?  You want proof?

Aren’t they just the cutest?  Oh wait, let me give you the grand tour!

Dark Chocolate Sunflower Seed Butter (homemade!) topped with candy-coated sunflower seeds.

Milk Chocolate Fluffernutter… creamy peanut butter and 1/3 of a large marshmallow, topped with a tiny piece of marshmallow.

Here we have the Milk Chocolate Nutella with Sea Salt.  My sister has Nutella issues (aka an obsession) so this was definitely necessary.  Plus Nutella + sea salt just go together.

Milk Chocolate Cinnamon Raisin Peanut Butter, topped with chocolate-covered raisins.  Have you ever had cinnamon raisin peanut butter?  I think it’s one of my favorites…  but I do have about 5 favorite peanut butters.

Milk Chocolate Peanut Butter Cookie Larabar.  Why have I never thought to surround Larabars with chocolate until now?  Larabar should seriously consider rolling out a “chocolate-dipped” line.

Dark Chocolate Rice Krispie Treat.  I think this would be really good with white chocolate.  I used the pre-packaged treats, but I’m pretty sure with all of this work, I’m allowed a shortcut or two!

Milk Chocolate S’mores, which is a small piece of graham cracker and 1/3 of a large marshmallow.  I’m not going to lie, I clapped my hands with excitement when I cut into this one.  It’s so… s’mores!

Milk Chocolate Blueberry Donut.  If you’ve never had a glazed blueberry cake donut, you really haven’t lived.  Same goes for blueberry bagels, but I don’t know how I feel about bagels in chocolate cups.  Actually, who am I kidding, that sounds delicious!

Milk Chocolate Gummy Bear (these make me think of you, Janae!).  I put two gummy bears in each cup.  I’ve been using gummy bears as long run fuel recently, maybe I could use these cups instead? 😉

And last but not least, the one that started it all, Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter with Sea Salt. It’s surely the simplest of the group, but gives all the others a run  for their money in the taste department. 🙂

So, which one’s my favorite?  Oh, I don’t know… I’m really bad at making decisions.  And these little homemade chocolate cups are like my children, so it’d really be unfair to choose a favorite anyway.  I love them all the same. 😉

With the chocolates made, I randomly decided to make a box of chocolates.  Now, the sad part is, I actually had to go buy a box of chocolate to assemble my homemade box of chocolates.  If you’re still reading, and you take nothing else away from what I’m telling you, save your empty boxes of chocolates!

After wrapping the empty candy box in pink gift wrap, I got really carried away and printed out a guide to the box of chocolates.  Because I don’t know about you, but there’s no worse thing in the world than being faced with a guide-less box of chocolates.  Although I guess it’s sort of like the mystery-flavored white Airhead.  Ahh, what flavor will it be?!  Anyway, there’s no guessing needed here!  🙂

So there you have it!  I’d say there’s no recipe needed here, this is just more of a “hey, look what I did, you should do it too!” kind of post. 🙂  But in case you’re curious, all I did was melt chocolate, pour a tiny bit into mini muffin liners, fill with peanut butter/random foods, then top with more chocolate.

I could definitely see myself getting into this homemade candy thing, it’s a little time consuming but fun and still pretty simple.  Happy candy making/eating, and Happy Birthday to my sister!

26 thoughts on “DIY: Box of Homemade Chocolates”

  1. Nick and I started making candy a couple of months ago, and I am super excited to show him these. ESPECIALLY those gummy bear cups! Nick’s favorite candy is a gummy [did I mention the 5 pound gummy bear he got for his birthday!?] and I know he would be done for trying that!

    1. I didn’t know you guys were so into candy making, how fun! To Nick: gummy candies are the best, my favorites are the red/white gummy worms, peach rings and the raspberry/blackberries with sprinkles on the outside. Gosh I really sound like a candy addict!

    1. Thanks! Next time I should consult your blog for the best types of chocolate to use – I just used chips for these (hangs head low…)

    1. Thanks, Averie (especially from you, the PB cup queen)!

      I just used MS PowerPoint to do the photo editing and writing, it’s crazy but that’s where I actually do all of my editing!

    1. Ha, I think it took a couple hours to make them, then the box was another couple hours. Time consuming but worth it for a fun birthday present for my sister!

  2. Fantastic job! I’d choose this over any store bought box of chocolates.

    Drooling over the milk choc smores, milk choc peanut butter & fluffernutter cups!!!

  3. You are my new hero. I have never had much luck with chocolates. I think it’s because I started with dipping things instead of layering. It scared me away from candy. I think I could actually give these a try. They ALL look A-May-Zing!!

  4. um, see, THIS is why we need to have a bakery.

    first, you are awesome. these are all awesome. they look delicious and fantastic.

    second (or third, fourth…) I made some too. come visit Monday. 😉

  5. Wow – these look great! I love the little decorations on top to let people know what kind of goodness to expect inside! Such a cute idea – will have to try and put some together for Valentine’s Day!

Leave a Reply

