Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal Spice Cookies

Hey guys, guess what?  I finally created a Facebook page for Little Bitty Bakes!  You should definitely “like” me if you’re a FB user.  I literally have no idea what I’m doing over there but I promise lots of talk of sugary deliciousness. 😉

What if I told you only 5 ingredients stand between you and these super duper soft cookies?

…it’s true!  Go grab a spice cake mix and a cup of Apple Cinnamon Chobani, I bet you have the other 3 in your kitchen already!

After a little break from the Greek yogurt recipes, I’m getting right back into the swing of things.  I’ve been having so much fun experimenting with Chobani’s newest Greek yogurt flavors in my recipes, specifically the apple cinnamon flavor.  In high school, I loooooved a different brand’s apple cinnamon yogurt that sadly is now discontinued.  I’m going to be honest with you, it took me three cups of the new Apple Cinnamon CHO to like it.  It has a much more tart flavor than the apple cinnamon yogurt I used to eat, which just took some getting used to.  A few weeks later and it’s one of my favorites!

Change can be tough, but it isn’t always bad.  Life lessons through yogurt eating. 😉

If you spend a little time in my Recipe Index — which I desperately need to update — you know I’m all for recipe shortcuts.  I love baking from scratch, but a busy, active lifestyle doesn’t always allow for that.  OK, who am I kidding, I waste 99% of my time running, baking and reading blogs.  No matter what the reason, when things gets busy, don’t stop baking, just grab a cake mix and an apple cinnamon Cho and make these apple cinnamon oatmeal spice cookies. 🙂

These cookies couldn’t be more simple to make, and the good news is you sacrifice zero taste for that convenience.  These are one of the softest cookies I’ve ever made, perfectly spiced with a bit of chewiness from the oats.  And since the recipe uses mostly good-for-you ingredients (forget about the cake mix…) I give you permission to go ahead and eat these cookies for breakfast.  I did it myself 🙂  And if you really want to get wild and crazy, crumble one up over a cup of Apple Cinnamon Cho!

[print_this]Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal Spice Cookies

A boxed cake mix and cup of apple cinnamon Greek yogurt are the secret ingredients in these super soft oatmeal spice cookies.  

Makes 2 dozen cookies

Prep time: 15 minutes

Cook time: 15 minutes (per cookie sheet)

  • 1 boxed spice cake mix (dry mix only — do not prepare the mix)
  • 1 cup quick oats
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 6-ounce container Apple Cinnamon Chobani Greek yogurt
  • 1 tablespoon canola oil

Heat the oven to 350 degrees F.  Line two large cookie sheets with parchment paper.

In a large mixing bowl, stir the cake mix and oats to combine.  Add the egg, yogurt and oil; stir until mixed well.  Drop the cookie dough by rounded tablespoon onto the prepared cookie sheets.

Bake 12-15 minutes or until edges are golden brown.  Allow to cool 2-3 minutes before removing from cookie sheets to cool completely.

Nutritional Info (per cookie): 93 calories, 2g fat (1g saturated fat), 139mg sodium, 8g sugar, 0g fiber, 2g protein[/print_this]

27 thoughts on “Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal Spice Cookies”

  1. Mmm, these sound delicious – I love all your yogurt creations! – and this apple-cinnamon yogurt is going on my grocery list. Headed over to like you on FB now! 🙂

    1. Aw, they don’t carry it in NZ? Although you have plenty of other interesting food to try while you’re over there! You will love the apple cin. yogurt!

  2. I totally ‘like’ you 😉
    & these sound delicious…not only delicious, but healthy too! & you are right- I DO have all of those items in my kitchen…well almost (no spice cake mix)…but I’m going to the grocery store tomorrow & I’ll add it to my list. I love having something sweet around the house to snack on..but not too sweet. These will be perfect 🙂

    1. These are the perfect weeknight dessert or just regular old snack. Or really, broken up over yogurt – I loved doing that! Oh, and thanks for liking my page 🙂

  3. These look so good! Do you think they would work if I made homemade spice cake mix, but left out all the wet ingredients and replaced that with the boxed cake mix in this recipe? Yum 🙂

    1. Hmmm, I think it seems like a homemade spice cake mix might work – can’t say for sure, but it’s definitely worth trying! Let me know if you do try it, I’d be interested to see how it works and if you get the same consistency.

  4. Ahhh these look so good! I bet almond butter on top would be awesome! I love apple, the new chobani apple cinnamon is a recent apple obsession ; )

    Love that your car is a her too, haha! Mine does not have a name, but I just know she is a girl, lol.

  5. Apples and Cinnamon anything is RIGHT up my alley! 🙂 I think I will have to head to the store and pick up the items that I do not have and bake these. I love the idea of breaking these up to sprinkle all over yogurt! YUM! Have a wonderful weekend.

  6. O.k so everytime you post a new recipe I end up going back through your older stuff! So upon seeing these Cookies I wanted to share my favorite recipe using a spice cake mix as well! I make everything from scratch usually but… this is my goto for a quick party potluck!
    1 Box Spice cake Mix
    1 Can of Pure Pumpkin
    3 egg’s
    Add Walnut’s or Raisin’s (if desired)
    follow the box direction’s for time’s and differant shaped pan’s.
    Frost with Creamcheese frosting!

  7. These sound wonderful, I’m going to boost the apple level a little when I make these by adding a minced (microwaved) apple and cut out the oil.

    I make something similar, with an angel food cake mix(dry), and a can of crushed pineapple (do not drain) in it’s juice. Combine the two, add 1 tsp cream of tartar & bake.

    Love your ideas….

Leave a Reply

