Just Add Water! Funfetti Dip

Happy Leap Day!  I’m convinced we all need to have an extra special February 29th since it only happens every four years, so I’m doing my part by sharing a fun “recipe” today.

Of all the recipes I’ve shared here, do you know which gets *by far* the most attention?  My 3-2-1 Funfetti Dip.  I get such a kick out of that!  I mean, I spend hours baking cookies, frosting cakes, and everything in between… I slave over pots of browned butter or a pan of caramelized onions… and all you want to see is a 3-ingredient no-bake dip that takes less than one minute to prepare.  No hard feelings,  it really is a gosh darn good dip, and foolproof.

A couple weeks ago I was thinking about my original Funfetti dip recipe when the thought occurred to me, why did I use yogurt and Cool Whip in the dip?  I mean, I do love my Greek yogurt, and you know I could eat Cool Whip by the tub full, but if all I want is that yummy cake batter flavor we all know and love… why didn’t I just add water?

Sooo, I did…

Introducing… Just Add Water Funfetti Dip!  Also known as, Funfetti Dip for Dummies, or Poor Man’s Funfetti Dip! 🙂 Hehe.

Save your pennies kids — all that stands between you and this new-and-improved Funfetti dip is a box of cake mix and some running water.  Oh, and I guess some dippers like the ever popular animal crackers.  Although, if you’re like me and ran 12 miles right before you whip this up, a simple spoon will do. 😉

But if you’re feeling ambitious and/or adventurous, I’ve got two other uses for your new & improved Funfetti dip…

First, we’ve got these mini Funfetti cupcakes.  Once baked, fill them with Funfetti dip, then spread your favorite frosting on top (I used a simple vanilla pudding/Cool Whip frosting here).

But if mini cupcakes are too much work, you can always make a…

Funfettinutter!! 🙂

Yes, it is as good as it sounds.  Perfect for celebrating once-every-four-years days like Leap Day!

[print_this]Just Add Water! Funfetti Dip

Mix Funfetti cake mix with water for a simple and delicious cake batter dip.  Serve with graham crackers, animal crackers, or pretzels.

Single serving:

  • 2 tablespoons Funfetti cake mix (dry)
  • 1 tablespoon water

For a crowd (32 single servings):

  • 2 cups Funfetti cake mix (dry)
  • 1 cup water

Stir the cake mix and water in a bowl until smooth.  Cover and refrigerate the dip until serving.

Nutrition Info (based on single serving): 110 calories, 2g fat (1g saturated, 0g trans), 190mg sodium, 22g carbohydrate (0g fiber, 14g sugar), <1g protein[/print_this]

24 thoughts on “Just Add Water! Funfetti Dip”

  1. funfetti for dummi… LOVE IT. and I love the animal cracker swimmin’ around in this goodness.

    I voted, my dear. and I’ll be back to do it again tomorrow…

  2. My mouth is watering just looking at your dip. I heart funfetti cake and the recipe on the side of the box for funfetti cookies is great too.

    Ps Don’t know the last time I had animal crackers, but it has been TOO LONG!

  3. Hysterically awesome and perfect for leap year! It’s always amusing how the most popular recipes are the simplest. I feel like there should be a lesson in that, but it’s fun to work in the kitchen sometimes. This does, however, look delicious and I can’t wait to try it!

  4. thank you for validating that what i thought was a guilty pleasure that i “snuck” when my husband wasn’t around is a legitimate dessert! 🙂 I have found that if you mix in just enough water that it’s the consistency of a thick oatmeal, and then microwave it just slightly – like 15 seconds, it becomes the consistency of a delicious and light cake batter mousse. i want some now!

  5. I love how I looked at this recipe and went “That’s so smart.” You would think just adding water to cake mix would be something cake batter addicts worldwide would have tried already, but alas. I actually tried this with a whole wheat bagel and it was delicious!!!

    1. Ha, I know — this was definitely one of those, “why didn’t I think of this sooner?!” type of recipes. 🙂

  6. I tried making this today, and it sort of tasted sort of like watery cake mix (which, of course, it is). I didn’t even put in the full cup of water. Do you recommend anything to add a little more flavor?

    1. Okay, so I played around with the dip and added about a tablespoon of milk and a splash of vanilla. That seemed to do the trick, and I love it on graham crackers. 😀

      1. Haha, I smiled when I saw your first comment, because well, it does sort of just taste like cake mix. 🙂 But I’m glad you added milk and vanilla and enjoyed it that way! And I agree, graham crackers rule.

Leave a Reply

