Birthday Cake Oreo Cookies & Cookie March Madness

Remember my Chipotle BLT Sweet Potato skins?  They’re entered in the Saucy Mama “Skinny Mama” Contest, which you can vote for on Facebook!  Voting is allowed once per day now through March 7th.  Vote early and vote often. 😉

Woohoo, it’s March!  Do you know what that means?  It means March Madness is upon us!

I sure do love Christmas, but sometimes I think the craziness of college basketball in March is really the most wonderful time of the year.  Passionate fans (myself included), cindarella teams, one shining moment… there’s just nothing like it!

I’ve gone cookie crazy here before, and it’s time to do it again!  All month long, I’m going to be sharing cookie recipes to celebrate the spirit of March Madness.  There”ll be fun themed cookies, local favorites, and well, whatever else I think of along the way.  I (oh-so-creatively) call it Cookie March Madness!

Now, the NCAA basketball tournament doesn’t actually begin for another two weeks, but I couldn’t wait to get started with the madness.  This first cookie represents all that’s great about March Madness — it’s fun, sweet (16?), and even has a little bit of history.  It’s a birthday cake oreo cookie!

Did you guys know the Oreo cookie is turning 100 years old this year?  I just think that’s crazy to think about — I mean, someone might have eaten an Oreo on the Titanic!  Although back then it was called an Oreo biscuit.  Weird!

Anyway, the Oreo will turn 100 on March 6th, and to celebrate, Nabisco created a limited edition Birthday Cake Oreo!  As soon as you open a bag of Birthday Cake Oreo’s, an intense sugary-birthday cake aroma will basically take over the room you’re in — it’s a great thing.  It doesn’t stop there — the taste is spot on, with the creme filling tasting very similar to birthday cake.  Well done, Nabisco, well done.

I’m not sure if it was the crumbled cake-flavored Oreo’s or the rainbow sprinkles, but these cookies are seriously one of the best cookies I’ve ever eaten.  And you know I’ve eaten a cookie or two in my lifetime. 🙂  They’re soft, chewy, and super sweet.

Oh, and if you’re not feelin’ cookies, just make Emily’s Oreo Birthday Cupcakes or Bridget’s Birthday Cake Oreo-Stuffed Brownies.  You have no excuse not to bake with these limited edition cookies. 😉

[print_this]Birthday Cake Oreo Cookies

Cookies to celebrate the Oreo cookie’s 100th birthday — soft, chewy cookies with crumbled Birthday Cake Oreos and rainbow nonpareils.  If you can’t find the limited edition Oreo cookies, substitute double-stuffed Oreos.

Prep time: 20 minutes

Cook time: 12 minutes (per cookie sheet)

Makes 3 dozen cookies

  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup plain Greek yogurt
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon sea salt
  • 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 tablespoons rainbow sprinkles (I used nonpareils)
  • 15 Birthday Cake Oreo cookies, crumbled

Heat the oven to 350 degrees F.  Line large cookie sheets with parchment paper.

In a large mixing bowl, beat the butter, Greek yogurt, and sugars with an electric mixer on medium speed until creamy.  Add the eggs and beat until smooth.  Mix in the baking soda and sea salt until blended, then gradually add the flour (half cup at a time) until mixed.  Stir in the rainbow sprinkles and Oreo cookie crumbs.

Drop the cookie dough by tablespoonful onto the prepared cookie sheets.  Bake 10 to 12 minutes or until edges are golden brown.  Allow to cool on the parchment paper 5 minutes before removing to cool completely.

Nutrition Information (per cookie): 130 calories, 4g fat (2g saturated, 0g trans), 130mg sodium, 21g carbohydrate (<1g fiber, 13g sugar), 2g protein[/print_this]

29 thoughts on “Birthday Cake Oreo Cookies & Cookie March Madness”

  1. i love how fun these look! These do seem like they would be the perfect baked good to surprise a party person or two! They also remind me of one of my FAVORITE LBB recipes – pumpkin cookies and cream cookies [I just wrote about them in a blog draft last night, as a matter of fact!!]

  2. Looks like all the bloggers like the birthday oreo cookies, I like this recipe, a cookie in another cookie 🙂

    1. Yes, I think these are a big hit with the baking bloggers. And yep – cookie in a cookie, that’s never a bad thing, right?!

  3. These are fabulous! Can I substitute crumbled Oreo cookies in place of the Oreo Cookie Cakes? Love your creativity!

      1. Great! Because I think if I bought the box of Oreo Cream Cakes — I’d eat them all and there’d be nothing to crumble for a recipe!

  4. I have a post going up tomorrow using birthday cake Oreos in cookies! Arn’t they so good? I want to try yours now (good thing I bought two boxes).

    1. Woohoo, I’m loving reading everyone else’s recipes!! I am really hoping they become so popular that Nabisco decides to keep them all the time.

  5. Okay that’s it. I need to buy these birthday cake oreos that have been all over the blogosphere.

    Maybe I can resist until after my beach-filled spring break 🙂

  6. These look quite yum! We can’t find the centennial oreo cookies here in the UK, but I asked my mother to get me some (she was a bit confused as to why, we don’t generally eat oreos. ever). Now I have a recipe to use the cookies with, yay! These look delicious and I cannot wait to try them.

  7. Mmm, I need to get my hands on a package of these Oreos! While I’m more into football than basketball…I’ll be looking forward to Cookie March Madness. 😉

  8. I’m with you on March Madness. Jeff and I are avid University of Arizona basketball fans and dream of following them from start to finish in the tournament. And by finishing, I mean WINNING!
    I saw these cookies in the store last week and my family loves Oreos, so I will have to make these for the kids. I’ll be mother of the year for at least one night, that is until I made your next March Madness cookie.

    1. Arizona has won before, right? I think was a very long time ago though!

      I’m sure you’re the mother of the year even without birthday cake Oreo’s. 😉

  9. I’ve been wanting to try those birthday cake Oreos. You may have just convinced me 🙂 Could you send some cookies down to FL when you get a chance???? 😉
    I love that you are really into March madness! That is awesome!! For Craig it’s like Christmas morning…for the whole tournament. Speaking of him, RIGHT now he is currently reviewing his brackets from the past 15 years (YES….he has kept them that long) to get an idea of who he is picking this year. He is OBSESSED…to say the least. Last year he went to Vegas (for his bacelor party) for one of the rounds & said it was the best thing on earth. He said there are HUNDREDS of tvs all with the games & people just sitting around going over stats. He’s a nut. 😉

    1. Tell him I think that’s a really good idea – reviewing brackets from the past, I bet it gives you a good idea of what is likely to happen based on history. You have a wise husband!

      PS – go find the Oreos quick before they are gone! I’m not sure they’re better than a classic Oreo, but they’re worth trying. If I still had some I would totally send you some!

Leave a Reply

