{Scoooop} Mini Vanilla Ice Cream Cookie Cups

Quick!  Think of your favorite sports teams.  Now think of your favorite players.  They’re pretty darn awesome, right?  I think my favorite athletes are so awesome that they deserve their own desserts named after them.  So what did I do this past Saturday, when one of my favorite Syracuse basketball players was playing at the Carrier Dome for the last time?  I made little vanilla cookie cups in his honor, of course. 😉

I’m guessing you’re not quite as obsessed interested with Syracuse basketball as I am, so I have to explain myself a bit.  For the past 5 years, Scoop Jardine has been a part of the Syracuse basketball team (he redshirted one year).  He got the nickname “Scoop” as a child because his grandma thought his head was shaped like an ice cream scoop. 🙂  Not surprisingly, Scoop’s name is a huge hit with fans — when he makes a shot, what sounds like thousands of fans booing is really a celebratory “Scoooooop!!”

Being the marketing-minded girl I am, I’ve always felt they should have a “Scoops for Scoop” promotion where fans get a free scoop of ice cream if Scoop scores xx points in a game, but well, that never happened.  So with it being Cookie March Madness and all, I finally took matters into my own hands and made these mini vanilla ice cream cookie cups to celebrate Scoop!

I added orange gel food coloring to a very vanilla cookie dough before scooping it into mini muffin cups.  Once baked, I used a little cookie scoop (a melon baller would also work) to scoop out the top of the cookie, then filled it with a little scoop of vanilla ice cream.

Scoops for Scoop!

[print_this]”Scoop” Mini Vanilla Ice Cream Cookie Cups

Soft mini vanilla cookie cups filled with cool and creamy vanilla ice cream.  Add mini chocolate chips to the cookie dough for a chocolate chip ice cream cup!

Makes 3 dozen cookie cups

Prep time: 30 minutes
Cook time: 12 minutes (per batch)

  • 1/4 cup unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/4 cup plain Greek yogurt
  • 1/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • Food coloring, if desired
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • Vanilla ice cream (I used a light slow-churned vanilla)

Heat the oven to 350 degrees F.  Spray mini muffin tins with nonstick cooking spray.

In a large mixing bowl, beat the butter, Greek yogurt, and sugars with an electric mixer on medium speed until creamy.  Add the eggs and vanilla and beat until smooth (also add the food coloring at this point if you want).  Mix in the baking soda and sea salt until blended, then gradually add the flour until mixed.

Use a small (1-inch) cookie scoop to drop the cookie dough into the mini muffin tins (about 1/3 full).  Bake 10 to 12 minutes or until the edges are golden brown.  Allow to cool 10 minutes before removing from the pan, then cool completely.

To fill the cookie cups with ice cream, first scoop out a small amount of the cookie center (you can use a 1-inch cookie scoop or melon baller).  Use a one-inch cookie scoop to fill cookie cup with ice cream.

Nutrition Information (per cookie cup, no ice cream): 65 calories, 2g fat (1g saturated, 0g trans), 65mg sodium, 11g carbohydrate (0g fiber, 7g sugar), 1g protein[/print_this]

7 thoughts on “{Scoooop} Mini Vanilla Ice Cream Cookie Cups”

  1. I love those. I want one…right now actually.
    & I LOVE Scoop!!!! I always cheered for him at Syracuse. (They are actually one of my favorite college basketball teams. I also like Gonzaga, just because I like to say Gonzzzzzzagggga 😉 )
    I love that 2nd picture. It’s perfect!

    1. Ha, I have always thought Gonzaga was neat too, just because of the name! I am so into college basketball but when it comes to most other sports, I tend to choose things based on silly things like color, which place I’d rather visit, etc.

Leave a Reply

