SweeTart Lemon Cookies

2012… the year of the mild winter, and now, the skipped over spring?!  Somehow, in just a few weeks, we’ve gone straight from high temperatures in the 20’s and 30’s to temps reaching the mid 70’s daily.  June in March?  A beach and some palm trees would but nice but yeah, I’ll take that. 🙂

The only bad thing about unseasonably warm temperatures is that all of the fun spring flavors I usually crave seem like they’ve been skipped over, the main one being lemon.  I’m not sure why, but every spring I can’t get enough lemony flavor in everything I eat.  Spring or no spring, I took matters into my own hands and made these spring-like SweeTart Lemon Cookies.

The idea for these cookies actually derived from Cookie March Madness, not spring flavors.  As you may (or may not) know, we’re now down to the “Sweet 16” in the NCAA basketball tournament (and Syracuse is still in it, woo!).  So while I thought of making a 16-ingredient cookie, or a sweet potato cookie, I couldn’t help but grab a bag of Easter-themed SweeTarts at the store the other day… SweeTart 16 cookies. 😉

A lemon cake mix makes these cookies suuuper lemony.  I added diet lemon-lime soda instead of oil/butter, crossed my fingers as the cookie dough went into the oven, and out came soft, chewy cookies with a flavor that somewhat reminds me of Fruit Loops or Trix cereal!  Pop some SweeTarts on top of the cookies, and you’ll feel like a kid again in no time.

[print_this]SweeTart Lemon Cookies

Lemon cake mix and diet lemon-lime soda make for a soft cookie with an tart, citrus flavor.

Makes 2 dozen cookies

Prep time: 15 minutes

Cook time: 10 minutes

  • 1 boxed lemon cake mix
  • 1/3 cup diet lemon lime soda
  • 2 large eggs
  • SweetTarts candies

Heat the oven to 350 degrees F.  Line cookie sheets with parchment paper.

In a large mixing bowl, stir the cake mix, soda, and eggs until mixed well.  Drop the dough by rounded tablespoon onto the prepared cookie sheets.  Bake 10 minutes or until edges are golden brown.  Immediately press 3 to 4 SweeTart candies into the cookies.  Allow the cookies to cool 5 minutes before removing from the cookie sheets to cool completely.

Nutrition Information (per cookie): 110 calories, 2g fat (1g saturated, 0g trans), 160mg sodium, 18g carbohydrate (0g fiber, 14g sugar), 1g protein[/print_this]

9 thoughts on “SweeTart Lemon Cookies”

    1. They’re very light – perfect for Spring, although it’s basically summer here right now! Are you having strange weather over in Spain?

  1. I have found your blog recently and really love it! I am actually going to try your Sea Salted Caramel cookies today! I might have to try these this weekend, they look really easy and cute and fit in with my no chocolate for Lent thing 😉 I love lemon in spring too!

Leave a Reply

