{CHOrific Recipes} Syracuse Macaroni & Cheese

I’ve got fun and tasty news.  Since the recipes using Greek yogurt I’ve posted over the past few months have been so well received, and since I admittedly am addicted to Greek yogurt myself, I’m starting a new series here on the blog, CHOrific Recipes.  I’m a loyal Chobani girl (they had me at 2% pineapple…) and the awesome folks at Chobani were kind enough to send me a whole bunch of yogurt to kick-start this series.  There’s no telling what I’ll bake/cook up, but I promise it’ll all be delicious!

I was recently perusing the aisles of the world’s best grocery store :cough: Wegmans :cough: when out of the corner of my eye, I saw what appeared to world’s best fun-shaped pasta…

It was a bag of Syracuse shaped pasta!  “S” shapes for Syracuse, and even little orange Otto’s.  You know I love my Orange, so I snatched two bags of pasta immediately and vowed to make macaroni and cheese.  But not just any mac ‘n cheese, no… a local-themed, Syracuse Macaroni & Cheese!

Pasta + New York Sharp Cheddar Cheese + Chobani Greek yogurt (they call CNY home!) + Dinosaur BBQ sauce = Syracuse Macaroni & Cheese!

If you’re a Cuse fan, I strongly suggest making this macaroni and cheese as soon as possible… what better way to take on Wisconsin in the sweet 16 — a state practically synonymous with cheese — than with a mac and cheese that’s bursting with local NY flavor? 😉

[print_this]Syracuse Macaroni & Cheese

Traditional baked macaroni and cheese with a local twist.  Creamy and cheesy thanks to New York sharp cheddar cheese and Chobani Greek yogurt, with a hint of smoky flavor from Dinosaur BBQ sauce.

Makes 6 (main dish) servings

Prep time: 20 minutes

Cook time: 25 minutes

  • 16 ounces (1 pound) dry pasta
  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 2 cups plain nonfat Greek yogurt (Chobani)
  • 4 ounces New York extra sharp cheddar cheese, shredded
  • 1/4 cup grated parmesan cheese
  • 1/4 cup Dinosaur BBQ sauce

Heat the oven to 400 degrees F.

Boil a large pot of water, then add the dry pasta and cook over medium-high heat until the pasta is al-dente.  Drain the pasta and pour back into the large pot; set aside.

Meanwhile, in a medium saucepan, melt the butter over low heat.  Stir in the flour, using a wire whisk to stir until smooth.  Add the yogurt; stir until smooth.  Add the remaining ingredients; stir constantly until the sauce is completely smooth.

Pour the cheese sauce into the pot over the pasta; stir until mixed well.  Pour the macaroni and cheese into a large casserole, then garnish with additional parmesan cheese, if desired.  Bake 20 to 25 minutes or until golden on top.  Allow to rest 5 minutes before serving.

Nutrition information (per serving): 470 calories, 13g fat (7g saturated, 0g trans), 320mg sodium, 64g carbohydrate (2g fiber, 4g sugar), 25g protein[/print_this]

22 thoughts on “{CHOrific Recipes} Syracuse Macaroni & Cheese”

  1. 1) this looks delicious
    2) I’m sorry that Wisconsin is going to win tomorrow.
    3) I might just have to make this tomorrow night for dinner to honor that fact. With Wisconsin cheddar cheese. 🙂

      1. College/sports-themed pastas make me so happy, and I love how big of a Wisconsin fan you are, but sorry, not tonight! 🙂

  2. Mac and Cheese speaks right to my heart! However, sitting on the bench due to a running injury has limited the amount of cheesy goodness one should consume 😦 One day I will make this!

    1. Yikes, I know what you mean, having to watch what you eat because of injuries. Tuck the recipe away for a more active time! 😉

  3. Being a Upstate New Yorker as well, and loving the mac and cheese, and the “home-gown” chobani, I must ask, if you used “Cuba Cheese” for your sharp cheddar? Cuba New York is famous for their extra sharp cheddar!!!

    1. I didn’t use Cuba cheese, I used Heluva Good, which is made in Sodus. But now I really want to track down this Cuba Cheese!

  4. Going to make this in honor of Chobani making their second home in Twin Falls Idaho.. With Idaho cheese. looks yummy. thanks!

Leave a Reply

