Pretzel-Doritos Rice Krispies Treats

Happy Monday!  I hope you had a nice little spring weekend.  Even though we had a glimpse of spring/summer up here last month, I think it’s really starting finally feel like spring.  Birds are chirping, local rhubarb and asparagus are in all the stores, and my allergies are officially in crazy mode.

…Which apparently is making my mind go into crazy mode, because on Saturday morning I whipped up a really crazy treat.

Pretzel Doritos Rice Krispies Treats!

You just have to trust me on these.  If you like rice krispies treats and you like salty snacks, I think you’ll love these.  My mind was in easy-dessert mode over the weekend, which meant I was about to whip up a batch of rice krispies treats.

And then I saw a bag of Doritos.

And I remembered how oddly delicious Doritos brownies were.

And the rest is history. 😉

[print_this]Pretzel-Doritos Rice Krispies Treats

Not your average Rice Krispies Treat!  These sweet ‘n salty treats have crushed pretzels and Doritos chips stirred in for a goeey, subtly cheesy treat.

Makes 16 bars

Prep time: 15 minutes

Cook time: 1 minute

  • 2 cups bite-size pretzels
  • 2 cups Doritos chips
  • 2 cups rice krispies cereal
  • 3 cups miniature marshmallows
  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter, softened to room temperature

Spray a 8- or 9-inch square pan with nonstick cooking spray.

Place the pretzels and Doritos in a large plastic bag; break the pretzels and chips into tiny pieces (a food processor would also work).  Pour the pieces into a large bowl with the cereal; set aside.

In a medium microwave-safe bowl, microwave the marshmallows and butter on High 30 to 60 seconds (or until marshmallows begin to puff up and butter is melted).  Using a rubber spatula sprayed with nonstick cooking, stir the mixture until smooth.

Immediately pour the marshmallow mixture into the pretzel-chip-cereal bowl; stir until mixed well.  Press the mixture into the prepared pan.  Allow the bars to cool completely before cutting into squares.[/print_this]

25 thoughts on “Pretzel-Doritos Rice Krispies Treats”

    1. I agree! I know sweet and salty snacks have been around for awhile now, but the combo never gets old with me. I think I just love it more and more!

  1. Liz, you know I love your recipes…. but this one leaves me with a Huh? I think it’s the cheese in the doritos that’s throwing me off! But of course, since everything you make has been freakin’ awesome, now I’m gonna have to try these too! Thanks for shaking things up a little! 🙂

  2. oooh mama. I’m speechless. I’ll have more to say after I make these, something like I love you, lets add these to the bakery menu! 😉

    1. They’d be perfect on the menu – maybe we’ll need to have a special case for these and other out-there snacks like your chocolate dipped corn chips!

Leave a Reply

