Blueberry Muffin Blondies

Remember when you were a kid and you’d wake up at 5am so that you could lick the blueberry muffin batter bowl before your older brother and sisters woke up?

…no?  Just me? 🙂

Growing up in my house, most mornings breakfast was a toaster strudel or a bowl of cinnamon toast crunch (sugar was obviously #1 in our diets) but on special mornings every few weeks, my mom would bake Duncan Hines blueberry muffins.

God knows why, but I loved blueberry muffin batter.  More than cake batter, I think.  What was wrong with me?!… Actually, I don’t know why I didn’t think of this sooner, but I bet I loved the muffin batter because my older brother and sisters probably had no interest in it.  Youngest child has to take advantage of such instances. 🙂

Anyhow, in addition to the tasty muffin batter, there was no denying the Duncan Hines (baked) muffins themselves were delicious, with the blueberries you’d add right into the batter, and the crumb topping that covered the muffin tops.  Sure, they’re not true homemade muffins, but sometimes life requires shortcuts.

I recently grabbed a box of my favorite childhood muffin mix with the intention to bake up the muffins traditionally, but my mind got the best of me and I did something a little different… I used the mix to make blueberry muffin blondies!

I’m happy with most of the things I put here on the blog, but these I really love.  They’re a fun little twist on your average blueberry muffin, and they’re so, so easy to make.  You really have no excuse not to bake them!

…just make sure you save me the bowl of leftover batter. 😉

[print_this]Blueberry Muffin Blondies

Everything you love about a blueberry muffin, in a bar!  These quick and easy blondies are soft and chewy with sweet blueberry flavor.

Makes 16 bars

Prep time: 10 minutes
Cook time: 25 minutes

  • 1 box Duncan Hines Blueberry Streusel muffin mix
  • 1/3 cup canola oil
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 1 large egg

Heat the oven to 350 degrees F.  Spray an 8- or 9-inch square pan with nonstick cooking spray, then line with parchment paper.

Drain and rinse the blueberries, per package instructions.  Set aside, along with the crumb topping packet.

In a large mixing bowl, stir the muffin mix, oil, water and egg until just mixed.  Stir in the blueberries.  Spread the batter into the prepared pan; sprinkle the crumb topping over top.

Bake 20 to 25 minutes or until the edges are golden brown and a toothpick inserted into the center comes out with just a few crumbs.  Allow the bars to cool completely before removing from the pan to cut into bars. [/print_this]

12 thoughts on “Blueberry Muffin Blondies”

  1. oh my stars, these will be the first thing I bake at the new house… I LOVED these muffins as a kid – always wanted to eat the crumble off every muffin 😉

    1. New house?! Gosh, I am so behind!! Must catch up. And I’m with you on the crumb topping, it is like a drug!

    1. Mmm, yes, now I really want to make a blueberry coffee cake! Good thing it’s almost blueberry picking season.

  2. These look delicious! Do you think think the recipe would still work if the oil was replaced with Greek yogurt?

    1. Hi Courtney, I think the oil for yogurt swap would work here! They might be a little more cake-like, but I’m sure they’d still taste great.

Leave a Reply

