{iPhone Dinner} Grilled Chicken, Feta & Sun Dried Tomato Panini

I know you probably think I eat a plate of cookies with Greek yogurt on top for dinner, but the truth is… I don’t.  Although that sounds like a fabulous dinner… 🙂

Just like my baking recipes, my “meal” eats are never anything too fancy or complicated, because that’s just not my thing.  I think I’d eat a salad or sandwich for dinner just about every night if I had to… or even if I didn’t have to, I guess!

Gosh, I don’t know what I’m saying… let me just tell you about this little panini.

Sorry, no fancy photos here… the battery of my pretty-picture camera was dead, and I was too hungry to wait for it to charge… thank you, iPhone. 🙂

A few weeks ago, I was out to lunch at work and had the most delicious grilled chicken and feta cheese flat bread sandwich.  I don’t even usually like feta cheese since it can be pretty tangy, so god knows why I even ordered it… but! the super salty, sharp, tangy feta cheese totally hit the spot that day.  Maybe all of the Greek yogurt I eat is upping my tangy-flavor resistance. 😉

Since I loved the grilled chicken and feta combo that afternoon, I decided to recreate the sandwich at home in panini form.  I used thinly sliced sourdough bread and added sun-dried tomatoes for a little sweetness… great decision.

I’m telling you, if you’re a chicken fan, a feta fan, or just a fan of food… you have to make this.  It’s stupid-easy to make, but so good!

[print_this]Grilled Chicken, Feta & Sun Dried Tomato Panini

A quick and simple panini bursting with Mediterranean flavor.  Swap the sourdough bread for your favorite, if desired.

Makes 2 sandwiches

Prep time: 5 minutes

Cook time: 5 minutes

  • 4 thin slices sourdough bread
  • 1 tablespoon unsalted butter, softened to room temperature
  • 1 teaspoon fresh or freeze-dried chopped dill (I use Litehouse Foods)
  • 1 large boneless, skinless chicken breast (grilled and sliced into strips)
  • 1/4 cup feta cheese
  • 1/3 cup sun dried tomatoes

Heat a frying pan over medium heat (or use a panini griddler if you have one!).

Spread the butter on one side of each of the bread slices, then sprinkle the dill over the butter.  Assemble the sandwich (buttered bread side out) with the chicken, sun dried tomatoes, and feta cheese.

Cook the sandwiches over medium heat about 2 to 3 minutes on each side, or until golden brown.  Gently press down on the sandwiches as they cook, to flatten them panini-style.[/print_this]

8 thoughts on “{iPhone Dinner} Grilled Chicken, Feta & Sun Dried Tomato Panini”

    1. Thank you, Paula! I think I could eat a panini for every meal, every day of my life – so compact and flavorful!

    1. It’s crazy how quickly I’ve gone from a feta hater to a feta lover, ha! Next up is Gorgonzola, I think…

    1. I know, I always end up eating a bunch of sun dried tomatoes plain whenever I’m making something with them, they’re so good!

Leave a Reply

