My Under Armour What’s Beautiful Goal: A Speedy 5k

Have you heard about the Under Armour What’s Beautiful campaign? The campaign launched last month with the intention of redefining what society considers a beautiful woman. Essentially, society shouldn’t define what type of woman is or isn’t beautiful, but rather women should be strong and confident in their own skin. I’ll agree with that!

To put the campaign into action, Under Armour has launched a new fitness goal-setting website for women called What’s Beautiful. It’s a very social media friendly website, which means you can use your Facebook and Twitter accounts in conjunction with the site (yay for easy and convenient logins)!

Once they’ve signed up, women are encouraged to declare a fitness-related goal and log in periodically to post progress reports on their journey to reaching their goal through videos, pictures, and diary entries.

After checking out the website, I jumped right on the bandwagon and signed up, ready to set my own goal. I actually gave a lot of thought to my challenge, and went through several different ideas before settling on my decision. I guess it’s a good thing when you can think of five or more short-term fitness-related goals! Anyway, my thoughts naturally gravitated toward running, and since I’ve already completed two marathons, I decided to set a goal that focuses on time rather than distance...

My goal is to break 21 minutes in the 5k this summer!

I think this goal will be just what a goal should be — challenging yet not out of reach. I’ve actually only run a few 5ks in my short running career, but last summer I ran a 21:27, with very little speed training.

You can see my own profile on the UA What’s Beautiful page . . . and you might as well create your own while you’re there! 🙂 In addition, Under Armour is running a competition on their site, including a prize of up to $1000 in Under Armour gear.

I’ll get into more of the specifics of how I’m training for a fast 5k over the next few weeks, but the main things I’ll be doing are speed work, short tempo runs, and strength training.

I don’t plan to run more than 20 miles per week, but I’ll be doing a lot of cross training as well. I think now is the perfect time for me to focus on breaking 21 minutes for a few reasons.

  • I have no big races on my schedule. Because of my ongoing recovery from my slip on ice in February, I currently have zero “big” races on my schedule until the Chicago Marathon in the fall (which still isn’t 100% happening). This means I can afford to focus more on speed and strength workouts rather than endurance runs, which should help me prepare for a fast 5k. Take me to the track!
  • Keep on keepin’ on. Without any big/long races in the near future, it’d be easy for me to kick my feet up on non-strength training days and enjoy the warm weather. But if I make it a goal to train for a fast 5k this summer, I’ll inevitably maintain a solid running base, which should help me come fall when I turn to longer races.
  • I want to run fast. Assuming I never run an ultramarathon (which I have no interest in), I’ve probably run as far as I’ll ever run in a race–26.2 miles. But I definitely don’t think I’ve run as fast as I’ll ever run. If I want to run any distance faster–including the marathon–I need to train faster. So why not start focusing on speed now?
  • ‘Tis the Season. Spring and summer are prime time for running races in New York, which means I should have plenty of chances to try to break 21 minutes in the 5k in the next few months. I have a feeling it might take me a few tries to get this done. 🙂

One of the neat things about the Under Armour What’s Beautiful website is that it suggests workout apparel to you once you’re signed up for the challenge. My favorite running shorts for that past few years have been Under Armour Escape Shorts, so I knew Under Armour was capable in the running apparel department. But I didn’t realize just how much neat stuff they have until now!

I spend a lot of cool springtime workouts in capri tights but they’re always so ho-hum — you know, solid black and unflattering. I love the look of the Slash Capris! I think they’d look great with the UA Fly-By Mesh Stretch Tank, don’t you? 😉

Oh, and the shoes on the model above are the same ones I posted about a couple weeks ago, the UA Charge RC! The Charge RC and Charge RC Storm not only look funky and bright, they’re also lightweight and supportive, which I think my feet would appreciate. You just might seeing them on my feet soon. Hey, fast running requires great (and colorful) shoes. 😉

Sweepstakes!

As part of the campaign, Under Armour will be offering a $500 Under Armour gift card to 3 lucky readers!! Readers of my blog and 11 other blogs will have a chance to win through 3 separate posts over the next month. To enter the sweepstakes now, all you have to do is reply in the comments telling me, what Under Armour products would you like to try?

SWEEPSTAKES/GIVEAWAY RULES

Rules:

No duplicate comments.

You may receive (2) total entries by selecting from the following entry methods:

a) Leave a comment in response to the sweepstakes prompt on this post

b) Tweet (public message) about this promotion, including exactly the following unique terms in your tweet message: “#whatsbeautiful” “#sweepstakes”; and leave the URL to that tweet in a comment on this post

c) Blog about this promotion and leave the URL to that post in a comment on this post. To comply with FTC Guidelines (see http://www.ftc.gov/opa/2009/10/endortest.shtm), entrants’ blog posts must disclose that they are receiving a sweepstakes entry in exchange for writing the blog post.

d) For those with no Twitter or blog, read the official rules to learn about an alternate form of entry.

This giveaway is open to US Residents age 18 or older. Winners will be selected via random draw, and will be notified by e-mail. You have 72 hours to get back to me, otherwise a new winner will be selected.

The Official Rules are available here.

This sweepstakes runs from 5/10-5/21

Be sure to visit Under Armour’s page on BlogHer.com where you can read other bloggers’ posts!

 

