{CHOrific Recipes} Strawberry Banana Upside Down Cake

Psst.  Mother’s Day is this Sunday.  Don’t forget!

If this is news to you, it’s probably too late to order mom a waffle iron from Williams Sonoma.  That’s what I ordered my mom!

Yes, my mom will read this and no, I didn’t just spill the beans here on the blog.  I found out last night she ordered the same waffle iron last week!  Gosh mom, don’t you know you shouldn’t go buying waffle irons the week before Mother’s Day?! 😉

Anyway, now that my thoughtful store-bought gift has been ruined, I have to think of a back-up plan… it’ll likely include a gift card, but it’ll also include cake!

Maybe my mom can buy herself the same waffle iron I bought her, but I know she won’t bake a strawberry banana upside down cake.

Fun fact: my mom has zero interest in baking, we think it skipped a couple generations. 🙂

Let’s talk about this lovely little upside down cake.  It’s so simple to make, I mix up the whole cake in one bowl!  Also, this shouldn’t be a huge surprise to you, but this cake uses my favorite Greek yogurt in place of milk… I think it makes it extra rich and moist… and, CHOrific. 😉

Oh, and the fruit… strawbanana!  Such a good combination, those strawberries and bananas.  By the way, did you know May is National Strawberry Month?  Mmm. 🙂

If you’re looking for something special to bake for the mom(s) in your life this weekend, definitely make this cake!  I know we’ll be enjoying it… along with a lot of waffles. 😉

***

New running post today — if you like fitness apparel, you’ll want to read it!

***

[print_this]Strawberry Banana Upside Down Cake

An incredibly moist and rich upside down cake with strawberries and bananas.  Use the cake recipe as a base to bake an upside down cake with your favorite fruits!

Prep time: 25 minutes

Cook time: 40 minutes

  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 3 tablespoons packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 pound strawberries, sliced
  • 1 small banana, sliced
  • 1 1/3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 3/4 cup Chobani nonfat vanilla Greek yogurt
  • 1/2 cup canola oil
  • 2 large eggs

Heat the oven to 350 degrees F.

Place the butter in a 8- or 9-inch round cake pan.  Place the pan in the oven, just long enough to melt the butter.  Remove the pan from the oven.  Swirl the pan around to evenly distribute the butter, then evenly sprinkle the 3 tablespoons brown sugar into the pan.  Arrange the strawberry and banana slices in a single layer over the brown sugar.

In a large mixing bowl, stir the flour, baking powder, salt, nutmeg, and sugars.  Make a well in the center of the bowl.  Place the yogurt, oil, and eggs in the well; mix until combined, then mix together the entire wet/dry mixture until combined.

Spread the mixture into the pan, over the layer of fruit.  Bake 40 minutes or until toothpick inserted in center of pan comes out clean.  Allow to cool 10 minutes before inverting cake onto serving plate.

Serve warm or at room temperature.  Serve with ice cream or whipped cream, if desired.  Refrigerate any leftover cake.[/print_this]

14 thoughts on “{CHOrific Recipes} Strawberry Banana Upside Down Cake”

    1. I can only speak for myself, but all the bananas I buy lately seem to get ripe so quick, which means lots of banana desserts!

  1. I made this a few days ago, and I must say it is one of the best cakes I’ve ever tasted. Delicious, moist, and almost too easy to eat–it didn’t last long! I also loved that it didn’t make a mess of the kitchen. I am living in Iceland, so I substituted local skyr for the Greek yogurt, and I also had to settle for frozen strawberries–excellent nonetheless. I will be making this over and over again. Thank you for a fantastic recipe!

    1. I’m glad you liked the cake, Casady! I’ve heard about skyr but I’ve never tried it. I think I can find it here in the US though – I’ll have to keep an eye out for it!

  2. My kids agree that this was the best tasting cake I’ve ever made 🙂 It was so moist and delicious. Will definitely do again the next time I have over-ripe bananas.

Leave a Reply

