Ginger Spice Zucchini Bread

Last week, Lindsay wrote about the benefits of ginger.  I had actually just seen on TV (the Today show, maybe?) the benefits of ginger.  In short, ginger has anti-inflammatory properties, is a digestive aid, and can help with arthritis pain.  Can you tell “healthy” Liz is here today? 😉

Anyhow, after all this talk of ginger, I had an itch to bake up something with a strong ginger flavor.  I was so close to making gingerbread cookies but decided I’d then be wishing it were Christmas in May, so I did what I always do… I looked around the fridge to see what might inspire me, and spotted a lone zucchini that needed a home.

A normal person might’ve sliced it up and grilled it, but come on… you know me.  I made bread.  And I amped up the flavor with ground ginger… ginger spice zucchini bread!

I’m pretty sure I single handedly ate half of this large loaf of bread in two days, it’s that good.  This was actually my first time every baking zucchini bread, and it definitely won’t be my last!  For years, banana bread has been my go-to for quick bread, but I think we might have a replacement.

I almost added Greek yogurt to the batter, but decided since it was my first go-around at zucchini bread, to wait just this once.  Well, now that I have a good recipe on my hands, you better believe I’ll be CHO-ifying this recipe soon!

[print_this]Ginger Spice Zucchini Bread

Incredibly moist zucchini bread with a boost of ginger.  Stir in raisins, nuts, or even chocolate chips for an extra tasty treat.

Makes 1 loaf

Prep time: 10 minutes

Cook time: 60 minutes

  • 1/3 cup unsalted butter, softened to room temperature
  • 1 1/3 cups granulated sugar
  • 1 medium zucchini, shredded
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

Heat the oven to 350 degrees F.  Grease a 9×5 inch loaf pan or spray with nonstick cooking spray.

In a large mixing bowl, stir the butter and sugar until creamy.  Add the zucchini and eggs; stir until mixed well.  Add the remaining ingredients; stir until just mixed.

Pour into the prepared baking pan.  Bake 55 to 60 minutes or until the top is golden brown and a toothpick inserted into the center comes out with just a few crumbs.  Allow the bread to cool 45 minutes before removing from the pan.  Serve warm or at room temperature.[/print_this]

14 thoughts on “Ginger Spice Zucchini Bread”

  1. I LOVE ginger. Whenever I go out for sushi I always request a side dish of ginger and i eat the entire thing! The waiter usually thinks I’m kidding when I ask for ‘a bowl full of ginger, ‘ but when they come back and check on us… It’s gone!! 🙂
    soooo good! Definitely want to try this recipe!!

    1. HA! An entire bowl of ginger?! That’s crazy, although I’ve actually never eaten straight up ginger so who knows, maybe I’d eat it by the bowl full too!

    1. What can I say, sometimes I’m really ambitious (but really, it’s just that sometimes I don’t have cake and cookie mixes!)

    1. Mmm, walnuts and raisins would be a great add! And I’m sure I’ll definitely do this recipe with CHO sooner or later… if I do, I’ll let you know!

  2. “A normal person might’ve sliced it up and grilled it…” ha! I suppose I am as abnormal as you, because the very first thing I always think of with zucchini is bread… it is my favorite! waking up early on a summer Saturday, picking a couple zucs from the garden, having bread for breakfast. YUM.

    I love Love LOVE ginger, use it every day. I bet your zuc bread is awesome.

    1. Ohh, that sounds like a lovely little Saturday activity. Can I come pick zucchini from your garden at your new house and help you bake up some bread? 😉

Leave a Reply

