Fluffernutter Brownies

With Memorial Day behind us, summer is (un)officially here!  I don’t know about you, but when summer hits, I completely change my eating patterns.  Chili for dinner is replaced with salads anything from the grill.  And when it comes time for dessert, simple is the name of the game.

Last weekend, after finishing up my e-book, I went on a bit of baking spree because I have to spend the next few weeks sans oven (I know…it hurts to type that).  I baked up a quick batch of brownies, not quite sure how I was going to finish them.  Once they were baked I saw that I had some marshmallows to use up.  I briefly thought s’mores brownies might be good, but then things got even better.  I made fluffernutter brownies!

These couldn’t be simpler.  Just bake a batch of brownies — any batch, either from scratch or a box.  Once the brownies are cooled, cut them into squares. You could even do this part a day ahead… I won’t even tell if you sneak a brownie or two!

Spoon some peanut butter into a plastic bag and snip off a corner of the bag.  Pipe a little bit of peanut butter onto each brownie,

Then top with marshmallow!  I was using regular sized marshmallows so I cut them into pieces, but you could also use mini marshmallows for this.

With the brownies on a baking sheet, pop them under the broiler until the marshmallow is toasted.  Keep and eye on them, no one likes a burnt mallow!

Being the fluffernutter fanatic I am, I don’t know why I didn’t think to make these sooner!  They’re perfect for a quick and simple summertime dessert.  Enjoy!

[print_this]Fluffernutter Brownies

Dense fudge brownies are topped with creamy peanut butter and fluffy marshmallow, then broiled.  It’s a fluffernutter on top of a brownie!

Makes 16 brownies

Prep time: 15 minutes

Cook time: 60 seconds (broil)

  • 1 pan of brownies (already cooked)
  • Per brownie:
    • 1 tablespoon peanut butter
    • 1 marshmallow, cut into pieces

Heat the oven to broil.  Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper.

Cut the brownies into squares, then place onto the cookie sheet.  Spoon the peanut butter into a plastic bag, then cut off a corner of the bag.  Pipe about 1 tablespoon of peanut butter onto each brownie.  Top with marshmallow.

Broil 30 to 60 seconds or until the marshmallows are toasted.  Serve immediately or allow to cool to room temperature.[/print_this]

12 thoughts on “Fluffernutter Brownies”

    1. Yes! I think when toasted marshmallows are involved, they’re automatically campfire approved. But you’re right, I didn’t even think of that — just grab a few brownies, a jar of peanut butter and marshmallows, and you’re all set to camp out and eat well! 😉

  1. Oh yes, I bet these are awesome. Impressed that you actually piped on the PB rather than just made little dollops (quickly) with a spoon which would have been me…I am so bad about actually ever piping anything!

    1. They’re pretty awesome 🙂 And I actually piped the peanut butter on because to me, it seemed easier than spreading… plus, I was less likely to start eating peanut butter by the spoonful when I finished, lol!

    1. The peanut butter got sooo melty and I didn’t even have that much on there… so good! Haha, I also often wonder how I wasn’t being rolled around as a kid – lived on Little Debbie and Doritos!

Leave a Reply

