Michelob ULTRA Light Cider & Summer Strawberry Cider

Let’s just get straight to it: I’m not a beer drinker.  Despite years of trying, I’ve just never been able to acquire a taste for beer.  Dark or light, traditional or fruity… just can’t do it.  When I drink an alcoholic beverage — or, I guess any beverage — I want it to taste good, and I want it to be fairly sweet.  I’d much rather drink a mojito or glass of wine than a bottle of beer.

So, you might be wondering why, if I don’t like beer, I’m writing a post with the word “Michelob” in it?  It’s a fair question, but I’ve got a good answer. 🙂

About a month ago, I was contacted by my advertising network, BlogHer, about an opprtunity to try and review Michelob ULTRA’s new Light Cider.  As described by Michelob:

Michelob ULTRA Light Cider is a new light, naturally sweetened and gluten-free cider made from crisp apples.  Light and refreshing, Michelob ULTRA Light Cider is an ideal alternative to white wine, champagne and traditional ciders.  ULTRA Light Cider has 120 calories per serving – that’s one-third fewer calories than an average of the leading regular hard ciders.

Made from apples?  An alternative to white wine or champagne?  Lower in calories so I can enjoy it with a cookie? 😉  I was intrigued!

Call me naive, but as a girl whose alcohol consumption is more or less limited to wine and very occasional hard liquor, I honestly didn’t know the difference between beer and cider.  With a little Beer/Cider 101 reading, I learned the main difference between the two is the ingredients used: cider uses apples, while barley and hops are generally the main ingredients for beer.  Ha, I guess I should have known that?

I was able to locate the new cider in the malt liquor/hard cider section of my grocery store, and after a quick chill in the fridge, I was ready to crack a bottle open.  I invited my sister to try one with me, since she also usually steers clear of beer.  I figured, if both of us can enjoy it, anyone can. 😉

Promises of a light and refreshing drink definitely delivered.  It’s been pretty hot here in NY lately, and the ULTRA Light Cider was very refreshing that afternoon.  Now, as a non-beer drinker, I have to say I thought the cider had a beer-like flavor.  Yet at the same time, I would gladly grab this over any other beer/cider.  I don’t really like to drink my calories (unless it’s a smoothie), and the ULTRA light cider was very light, with a faintly sweet flavor from the apples.

Now, here’s where things get really tasty!

Always wanting to whip something up…

I decided to use the ULTRA Light Cider to make a pretty little cider cocktail… A summer strawberry cider. 🙂

[print_this]Summer Strawberry Cider

Makes 1 drink

  • 2 to 3 tablespoons crushed strawberries
  • 1 bottle Michelob ULTRA Light Cider, chilled

Spoon the crushed strawberries at the bottom of a glass.  Pour the cider over the top.  Enjoy! [/print_this]

Oh yes, this is the way to enjoy cider!  If you like sweet drinks minus the whole added sugar thing, you will love sipping on this all summer long!

Since I’ve always got food on the mind… what summer meal do you think would go best with Michelob ULTRA Cider?  I think a big salad with grilled chicken would be great with my Summer Strawberry Cider!

Want to know more about this cider?  You can learn more by visiting the Michelob ULTRA Light Cider page on BlogHer.com or visit the sponsor site.  

