Blueberry CHOconut Cookies {CHOrific Recipes}

Happy Monday!  Well, let’s be honest, Monday’s aren’t always the happiest of days, but I bet I can make your Monday happier with a cookie!

It’s officially berry season here in upstate New York — one of my favorite fruit seasons.  My mom and I almost went strawberry picking this weekend, but I’ve heard the strawberries are teeny tiny this year, so we’re holding out for our personal favorite berry to pick, blueberries.  They should be ready to pick in a couple weeks, which means there’s soon to be an onslaught with recipes over here… starting today with these blueberry CHOconut cookies.

Yes, that’s CHOconut — it’s what happens when you mix coconut and Chobani Greek yogurt.  😉

Coconut and blueberry aren’t the most obvious pair, but they really are delicious together.  I first learned this last year when I made a blueberry upside down cake with coconut oil.  The two together just make for such a sweet, refreshing combination, and these cookies are no exception.  Add in a big scoop of CHO and you’ve got a soft, moist, perfectly sweet cookie.  Enjoy!

[print_this]Blueberry CHOconut Cookies

Buttery cookies made soft and super-moist with Chobani Greek yogurt and sweetened coconut flakes.  Blueberries are folded in for bursting berry flavor in every bite.  Substitute raspberries or blackberries for an equally sweet cookie.  

Makes 2 dozen cookies

Prep time: 20 minutes

Cook time: 12 minutes (per cookie sheet)

  • 5 tablespoons unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/4 cup nonfat plain or lemon Greek yogurt (Chobani!)
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla or lemon extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup sweetened coconut flakes
  • 1 cup fresh blueberries

Heat the oven to 375 degrees F.  Line cookie sheets with parchment paper.

In a large mixing bowl, beat the butter, yogurt, and sugars with an electric mixer until smooth.  Add the egg and vanilla/lemon; beat until mixed well.  Add the baking soda, salt, and flour; beat until mixed.  Stir in the coconut and blueberries.

Drop the cookie dough by rounded tablespoon onto the prepared cookies sheets.  Bake 10 to 12 minutes or until the edges are golden brown.  Allow to cool 5 minutes on the cookie sheets before removing to cool completely.[/print_this]

17 thoughts on “Blueberry CHOconut Cookies {CHOrific Recipes}”

    1. You should try ’em! It’s a great combination indeed. I think I need to think outside the combination box more often!

  1. Ive been wanting to make blueberry cookies for awhile…and almost did the other day. Til I realized I was out of blueberries. Whoops!

    These look great and impressed at how puffy they stayed (Fruit in cookies for me CAN be flattening experiences sometimes…)

    1. Oh I know what you mean with the flattening! I think with blueberries (as opposed to sliced strawberries or something) it’s different because I keep them whole – maybe that’s how they keep from flattening? Or maybe a lower water content. Or maybe, I just got lucky 😉

    1. Maybe I’m just lucky with getting puffy fruit-filled cookies? Ha… I don’t know what the secret is or I’d let you guys know. Although, I do think blueberries hold up better in baking than sliced strawberries or something.

  2. I have almost all of these ingredients on hand. Looks like I’ll need to try this recipe very soon. I love lemon Chobani with blueberries, so I’m sure I’d love it in a cookie form!

    1. Lemon Chobani is really good! I don’t buy it all that often but when I do, I realize I need to grab it more often. 🙂

    1. Hi Lauren – thanks! Ha, I have a tendency to eat a ton of blueberries too. Hope you get a chance to make the cookies!

  3. Oh my goodness these look so amazingly good. I’ve been busy with my business these last few weeks, but now I’m off to catch up on the rest of your blog posts I’ve missed!

Leave a Reply

