Caramel Coconut Brownie Cookies

Happy Monday, folks!  I hope you had a lovely weekend.  Mine was (not surprisingly) food focused, including a lunch with my aunt and uncle who were in New York visiting from Florida, as well as strawberry picking with my mom yesterday.  I know I said you were in for some blueberry recipes here soon, but now you’re in for strawberries as well!  But first…

I had a chance to clean through the “closet” of my blog this weekend, updating my Recipe Index, and in the process I found a bunch of drafted recipes from earlier this spring that I somehow forgot to share!  What can I say, between e-booking, a vacation in Florida last month, planning a trip to Europe, and other life things, my brain has been a bit scattered.

But that’s beside the point, and not nearly as interesting as this recipe I dug up, caramel coconut brownie cookies!

I made these cookies back in May, when I made Rolo Brownie Bites.  I guess I was on a caramel brownie kick. 🙂

If you were a Little Debbie addict growing up like I was, you might remember Star Crunch snacks?  Well, the flavor of these cookies are spot-on with a Star Crunch (if you’re not a Little Debbie connoisseur, they’re also very similar in flavor to a Samoas Girl Scout cookie).

The cookies are a cinch to make, and are dense and super chewy from the caramel bits.  I actually think two of ’em with a little ice cream between would make the perfect summer ice cream sandwich, so I might need to bake up another batch of ’em soon!

[print_this]Caramel Coconut Brownie Cookies

Starting with a boxed brownie mix, you’ll have these chewy, gooey caramel coconut brownie cookies in and out of the oven in no time.  If you can’t find caramel baking bits, just chop regular soft caramel candies into small pieces instead.

Makes about 2 1/2 dozen cookies

Prep time: 15 minutes

Cook time: 12 minutes

  • 1 boxed fudge brownie mix
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/4 cup canola oil
  • 2 tablespoons water
  • 1 cup sweetened flaked coconut
  • 1/2 cup caramel baking bits (Kraft makes these, they’re usually in the baking aisle)

Heat the oven to 350 degrees F.  Line cookie sheets with parchment paper.

In a large mixing bowl, stir the brownie mix, egg, oil, and water until mixed.  Stir in the coconut and caramel baking bits.

Drop the cookie dough by rounded tablespoon onto the prepared cookie sheets.  Bake 10 to 12 minutes or until the cookies are baked through.[/print_this]

21 thoughts on “Caramel Coconut Brownie Cookies”

  1. There are two recipes I have been possessed with researching the past couple weeks…chocolate cake from scratch and brownie cookies. And here you are with your brownie cookies. I need to stop researching and start making 🙂

    1. I love brownie cookies, so chewy and chocolatey! Good luck with your research, I look forward to seeing the results. 🙂 Oh and PS, now I really want to make a chocolate sheet cake from scratch!

  2. YUM! I love finding recipes that use mixes… I mean, don’t get me wrong I like making things completely from scratch, but sometimes it’s nice to cheat a little. These are definitely going on my to-make list!

    1. When it comes to cakes & brownies, I probably use a mix about 75% of the time… the creativity comes afterwards!

    1. Oh you definitely need to hop on my bandwagon with the brownie cookies, Sally! They’re SO chewy, and you’d love the coconut in here for sure.

  3. Hi Liz, I have a question for you! I made these cookies yesterday and followed the directions and my cookies turned out very hard. I love the ideas of the cookie and they taste great despite their hardness. Do you have any suggestions on what i could do to make them chewy as they are supposed to be? Thanks for any help you can give!

    1. Hi Camille! I’m sorry the cookies turned out hard for you. As for making them chewier and softer, I would recommend adding a tablespoon more of oil, and also watching the bake time (they weren’t burnt, were they?)

      1. Thanks for the fast reply! No they weren’t burnt, I was also thinking of decreasing the baking time though I was concerned that may cause something else to go wrong? I will defiantly try adding more oil, I didn’t think of that! LIke I said the cookies still taste great, I think I’m going to crumble them up and use them as ice cream topping! Thanks for your suggestions!

      2. Ooo, crumbled up on top of ice cream – I like that idea! One other thing I thought of afterward, it could depend on the type of brownie mix you used. I’m pretty sure I used Pillsbury, but I’m not 100% positive (note to self: remember this next time!).

Leave a Reply

