CHOrific Flag Cake

I know people say Christmas is the most wonderful time of the year, but as a former competitive swimmer and current runner, the summer Olympics sure do give Christmas a run for its money.  I’ve been immersed in swimming and track & field Olympic trials all week long, and it’s been great.  I swear, there’s no such thing as a bad day when you know you can come home and watch swimming in primetime!

Now if only I could get my hands on some swimming tickets when my brother and I are in London next month

Anyhow, between Olympics excitement and the fast approaching 4th of July holiday, I’m without a doubt running high on American pride. 😉  So when I found myself with a ton of juicy, ripe strawberries the other day, I knew what to do…

I made a good ‘ol patriotic flag cake!

This isn’t just any flag cake, my friends.  No, this is the most delicious, light flag cake you will ever try.  You know why?

Yeah, this flag cake is Chobani-fied. 🙂

I simply added a cup of Chobani blood orange yogurt, a couple eggs, and water to a boxed white cake mix — no oil! — and filled the entire kitchen with sweet cake aromas before I knew it.

The frosting on this cake?  Couldn’t be easier.  Chobani + Cool Whip =  Heaven.   I don’t know about you, but I would love to dive into a pool of Chobani Whip…

No flag cake would be complete without berries!  After arranging blueberries and fresh sliced strawberries over the frosted cake to resemble an American flag, I cut into it to find the lightest, fluffiest cake I’ve seen in a long time.

Who needs strawberry shortcake or angel food cake this 4th of July when you’ve got a CHOrific flag cake just moments away? 🙂

Happy (early) 4th of July, and GO USA!

[print_this]CHOrific Flag Cake

No American celebration is complete without a patriotic dessert!  This simple cake recipe relies on Chobani Greek yogurt to keep dessert light without sacrificing flavor or sweetness.

Prep time: 30 minutes

Cook time: 30 minutes

Cake:

  • 1 boxed white cake mix
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 (6-ounce) container Chobani Greek yogurt (any flavor)
  • 1 cup water

Frosting & Topping:

  • 1 (8-ounce) container Cool Whip, thawed
  • 1 (6-ounce) cup Chobani nonfat plain Greek yogurt
  • Sliced strawberries
  • Blueberries

Heat the oven to 350 degrees F.  Grease the bottom of a 13×9-inch pan with shortening or nonstick cooking spray.

In a large mixing bowl, combine all the cake ingredients; stir until mixed well (a few lumps is fine).  Pour the cake batter into the prepared pan.

Bake 25 to 30 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the center of the cake comes out with just a few crumbs.  Allow the cake to cool completely before frosting.

In a medium mixing bowl, stir the Cool Whip and Greek yogurt until smooth.  Spread the topping over the cooled cake.  Arrange the strawberries and blueberries over the top to resemble an American flag.  Refrigerate the cake until serving.[/print_this]

15 thoughts on “CHOrific Flag Cake”

  1. I agree…swimming in primetime rocks! I’ve been spending the last few evenings inside on the couch watching the trials, and I couldn’t be happier!! This cake looks so delicious, by the way! 🙂

    1. Honestly the only reason I thought to plan ahead was because of the Olympic trials – I’m riding high on American pride right now! I trust you’ll have something patriotic on your blog before the 4th 🙂

  2. Thank you for this easy, breazy, delicious and beautifully simple recipe!
    I made this yesterday for dear friends on 4th of July and all that is left is the crumbs (barely!) We all loved the addition of the blood orange chobani flavor to the cake mix, it added a little extra to the plain white cake mix. And the “frosting” was so light and not overly sweet. Perfect for summer, I will be making again soon for hubby’s 30th Bday! He loved it!!

    1. I’m so glad you enjoyed the cake! I know I love how simple it is. I hope it is a hit for the birthday as well!

Leave a Reply

