State Fair “Silver Medal” Grilled Cheese

First, thanks for the congratulations on my big news!  You guys are the best.  And for that I promise I’ll keep making crazy Greek yogurt recipes even after I move to Florida. 🙂

Anyway… let’s talk about recipe contests.  Back before I started this blog, most of my recipe development was for recipe contests.  In fact, I entered a bunch of recipes in the Pillsbury Bakeoff when I was 19!  Nowadays, most of my recipe development is to share here on the blog rather than entering into contests, but every now and then I enter a contest hoping for a win.  I did get my first contest “win” last summer with these blue ribbon cookies, but the prize was a shiny blue ribbon and $7.  Ha!

Well, last week I found out I was the “silver medal” winner in the Grilled Cheese Academy’s 2012 Grilled Cheese Recipe Contest!  Now, I know what you’re thinking… silver?  That certainly isn’t what Michael Phelps or Ryan Lochte are hoping for at the Olympics.  But in this case, for me, silver feels like gold because I won $500!

I don’t even remember how I stumbled upon this recipe contest earlier this spring, but once I found the contest I knew I had to enter.  The Grilled Cheese Academy honors Wisconsin cheese and has some of the best looking and most creative sandwich recipes I’ve ever seen on their website.  Trust me, it’s worth checking out… just make sure you do it on a full stomach or else you’ll be running into your kitchen for the nearest block of cheese. 🙂

Enough rambling, let me tell you about my “silver medal” sandwich!  I decided to have fun with the contest and go with an out-there themed sandwich.  Since I knew the contest winners would be announced in the summer, I went with a “state fair” theme, pulling together foods and flavors that remind me of a good ol’ fair.

That meant pulled pork, thinly sliced apples, caramel topping, and Wisconsin sharp cheddar cheese.  I piled the toppings between two slices of bakery fresh white bread, grilled it up, and dusted powdered sugar over the whole sandwich once it was finished cooking.  It’s really like a bite of a state fair!

If making crazy, delicious sandwiches will win me $500, I’ll gladly be stepping up to the plate more often! 😉

What would your ideal grilled cheese sandwich have in it?!

[print_this]State Fair Grilled Cheese

Pulled pork, caramel apples, and fried dough — all typical eats at a state fair.  Pile them high in a sandwich with Wisconsin sharp cheddar cheese, and you’ve got yourself one of the most delicious grilled cheese sandwiches!

Makes 4 sandwiches

Prep time: 10 minutes

Cook time: 10 minutes

  • 8 slices white bread
  • 6 tablespoons unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 8 slices Wisconsin sharp cheddar cheese
  • 1 cup pulled pork tenderloin (already cooked and pulled)
  • 1 large Granny Smith apple, sliced very thin
  • 1/3 cup caramel topping
  • 1/4 cup powdered sugar

Heat a griddle or nonstick pan over medium heat.  Spread the butter on one side of each of the bread slices.  Assemble the sandwiches by evenly layering the cheese, pork, apple and caramel topping.  Grill the sandwiches until browned on each side.  Dust the cooked sandwiches with powdered sugar.[/print_this]

16 thoughts on “State Fair “Silver Medal” Grilled Cheese”

  1. Congrats!
    Also – i love love love that you blogged this recipe the week of the Lodi Wisconsin Fair, an event I am no doubt super nostalgic about 🙂

    1. I love fairs of all sorts! I bet the Lodi fair is a good one. I actually think the NY State Fair has gotten so big it loses some of that laid-back country feel that’s so good about fairs. Anywho, thanks Heather!

    1. Haha! Thanks Sally! An odd combo but I guess the judges enjoyed it. 🙂 You should enter your awesome granolas in recipe contests!

  2. Wow, what an awesome sandwich – truly a taste of the state fair! I’m planning to enter a couple of my preserves at the fair this year just for fun. 🙂

    1. Yes, you need to enter your jams at the fair! I’m bummed that I’m going to be gone before the state fair, otherwise I’d enter cookies again. You need to fill my shoes, k? 🙂

  3. congrats on your silver win – I would be extremely happy with that also! 🙂 wow, inventive indeed – take out that meat and I love the whole thing! 😉

    a friend of mine sends me contests all the time (this was way before blogging), telling me I need to enter…

    1. Contests are fun to enter but can be super deflating too when you think you have a good idea and you don’t win. Which is why blogging is so much more fun. 🙂

  4. May be a weird mix of things, but it all sounds GOOD to me! Congrats on winning. That is so awesome (and well deserved).

    PS – Florida means closer to me. I’m expecting you plan to take a pit stop in Atlanta as you move? 😉

    1. Thanks, Tina! The oddest flavor combos often end up being favorites for me, too!

      I’m actually only going to be living like a 4-5 hour drive from Atlanta, and I’m a lifelong Braves fan, so I’m sure I’ll be up your way every now and then! We should find a marathon or half marathon to do or something.

      1. That would be GREAT! I’m not 100% sure when I’ll be ready for a race again bec I want to feel 100% with running before I start training for somemthing again. But I do have my eye on some halves in the fall/winter and possibly (big possibly) the Snickers Marathon in Albany GA first weekend of March.

  5. Congratulations on the win. On FB, I’m a fan of “Delish”; they posted a pic of your grilled cheese and I just HAD to have it! So, after supper last night, I made a grocery run for pork butt, cooked it all night in the crock pot. Tonight, I’m making your sandwich for supper along w/ a side of sweet potato chips. I’m so distracted today, thinking about how GOOD my supper will be. The pork cooked beautifully. I had a dab for breakfast, lol. Again, Congrats and thanks so much for sharing!!

Leave a Reply

