Pecan Sandies

Hello from Florida!  After overnights earlier in the week in Richmond and Savannah, I’m now settling into life in the Florida panhandle, minus all of my belongings, which I should hopefully be reunited with next week.  Until then I’m sleeping on the floor, dining on paper plates, and trying not to make a mess since my vacuum is on the moving truck.  Oh, the joys of moving long distance. 😉

Since my kitchen is currently void of any baking sheets or mixing bowls, I did a little planning ahead last week — I baked a batch of pecan sandies.  I think my move to the South is the perfect time to share a recipe with pecans, right?

Speaking of pecans, everyone should eat pralines at least once in their lifetime.  I just tasted them in Savannah the other day for the first time, so good!  It’s probably good for my health that Savannah is a few hours away from me.  Anyway…

I’ve never made pecan sandies before, but I remember eating Keebler pecan sandies growing up, and my mom tells me my grandma used to love pecan sandies, so I feel like they’re a cookie I should start baking more often.  Especially now that I’m a girl in the South. 😉

This particular recipe uses part butter/part Chobani Greek yogurt (because really, what don’t I make with Chobani?), but you could certainly use all butter if you’d like a more rich cookie.  Just don’t skimp on the pecans, and roast them if you can — it gives the cookies so much depth!

[print_this]Pecan Sandies

Roasted pecans give these sweet and salty cookies a rich taste, while Chobani Greek yogurt makes for a softer, lighter cookie.  If you’re a chocolate lover, stir miniature chocolate chips into the cookie dough before baking.

Adapted from Martha Stewart

Makes about 3 dozen cookies

Prep time: 15 minutes

Cook time: 12 to 15 minutes

  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup Greek yogurt, strained*
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons vanilla extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon fine sea salt
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 cups roasted pecans, coarsely chopped
  • Extra pecans for garnish, if desired

Heat the oven to 375 degrees F.  Line large cookie sheets with parchment paper.

In a large mixing bowl, beat the butter and sugar with an electric mixer (or by hand) until creamy.  Add the yogurt and vanilla; mix until well blended.  Stir in the salt, flour, and pecans, mixing until blended.  Place the dough in the refrigerator for 30 minutes.

Roll the chilled dough into 1-inch balls, placing on the cookie sheets about 2 inches apart.  Flatten each ball slightly with your hand or the back of a spoon.  If desired, press a whole pecan into the center of each cookie.

Bake 12 to 15 minutes or until the edges are golden brown.  Allow the cookies to cool 3 to 5 minutes before removing from the cookie sheets to cool completely.[/print_this]

4 thoughts on “Pecan Sandies”

    1. You know it — all of my cookies with Greek yogurt are always so moist! And yep, they use the “healthy” sugar. 😉

    1. Yes, you need to make cookies with Chobani! They’re softer than regular (full butter) cookies, but just as delicious. Can’t wait to see what you whip up!!

Leave a Reply

