Peach Banana Yogurt Bars

Good news!  I have things!  My household belongings finally arrived here in Florida this week, which means I don’t have to sleep on an air mattress anymore, don’t have to dress myself out of a suitcase, and I can mix cookies in my KitchenAid!  I think I forgot what it was like to have a kitchen full of dishes, pans, and small appliances.  It’s the little things in life, I tell ya!

To celebrate my reunion with all of my prized possessions, I’ve been taking advantage of my final few days before becoming a full-time doctoral student by baking up lots of good things.  Lots of cookies!  That’s probably no surprise.

In addition to the cookie frenzy, I also whipped up these yummy peach banana yogurt bars.

Peach banana, you may ask?  Yes… things I’ve learned about fruit in the past week: bananas ripen at rapid speed in August, even in an AC’ed apartment… and living right near Georgia means you get to enjoy some of the biggest, best peaches around. 🙂

I took my sweet peaches and super ripe bananas, grabbed a container of CHO, and got to work on a bar I’ve been snacking on all week long.  The bars taste very similar to banana bread, but I call them “yogurt bars” because the yogurt makes them incredibly moist, almost cheesecake-like.  Store ’em in the fridge and you’ve got the perfect snack for the tail end of summer. 🙂

[print_this]Peach Banana Yogurt Bars

Makes 12 bars

Prep time: 15 minutes

Cook time: 40 minutes

  • 1 ripe banana, mashed
  • 6 ounces lowfat plain (or peach!) Greek yogurt (I use Chobani)
  • 1 large egg
  • 3 tablespoons granulated sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon fine sea salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/8 teaspoon baking soda
  • 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 large peach, skin removed and diced
Heat the oven to 350 degrees F.  Spray an 8- or 9-inch loaf pans with nonstick cooking spray.
In a large mixing bowl, stir the banana, yogurt, and egg until mixed well.  In a separate small mixing bowl, stir the sugar, salt, baking powder, baking soda, and flour.  Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients, stirring until just mixed.  Stir in the diced peaches.
Spread the batter into the prepared pan.  Bake 35 to 40 minutes or until an inserted toothpick comes out clean.  Allow to cool at least 10 minutes before slicing (I cut lengthwise down the middle, then 6 bars across). [/print_this]
19 thoughts on “Peach Banana Yogurt Bars”

    1. Thanks, Alicia! It’s definitely nice having access to all of these great peaches, although the season is winding down. Next year, though!

    1. I always say “______ is my favorite fruit” — whatever fruit is in season! If it’s apple season, apples are my favorite. When it’s strawberry season, strawberries are the best. 🙂

    1. Ha! I actually think upstate NY has pretty decent peaches at this time of year, no? And don’t worry, you’re going to have me TOTALLY jealous come apple season. I don’t think there’s any possible way I’m going to get my hands on fresh NY apples!!

      1. I think we need to make a deal here, hehe! You ship me some fresh Florida oranges (I think peaches wouldn’t ship so well) and I’ll ship you some fresh-picked NY apples!!

    1. Who knows what made me think to make these — I’d say just some overripe bananas and a fridge full of peaches, ha! Let me know how they turn out for you, interested to see how they work with a GF flour and flavored CHO.

Leave a Reply

