Zucchini Spice Greek Yogurt Pancakes

Happy Thursday!  How excited is everyone that we’re so close to a long weekend?!  I love Labor Day weekend because — in addition to the extra day off — I feel like it’s the gateway to fall.  Break out the pumpkin, dig out the apple recipes, and watch the leaves begin to change colors!  Oh wait, I moved to Florida.  OK… I’m going to live vicariously through all of you who have an actual fall. 🙂

Speaking of changing seasons, I cooked up the most delicious pancakes recently which I think are the perfect bridge between summer and fall.  Even here in Florida right now, summer squash is abundant at farmer’s markets — I bought a large bag of it last week and I’ve been trying my best to put it to use.  So when I got a craving for pancakes last Sunday, I grabbed a small zucchini and a cup of my favorite Greek yogurt, and got to work.

The ingredient list here is so simple, and by adding a generous helping of cinnamon, the pancakes have a strong spiced flavor that just screams, “hello, fall!” Oh, btw, you could just as easily use pumpkin pie spice in place of the cinnamon, or a mix of cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, etc.  I’ll let you decide. 🙂

Top the pancakes with a dollop of Greek yogurt and a drizzle of honey, and dig right in!

Enjoy your holiday weekend!

[print_this]Zucchini Spice Greek Yogurt Pancakes

Moist, fluffy pancakes made with fresh grated zucchini, creamy Greek yogurt and warm cinnamon spice.  If you’d like, add chocolate chips or chopped nuts for extra flavor and crunch.

Makes about 6 medium pancakes

Prep time: 10 minutes

Cook time: 5 minutes

  • 6 ounces plain nonfat/lowfat Greek yogurt
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 cup shredded zucchini
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt

Heat a griddle or large frying pan over medium heat.

In a medium mixing bowl, stir the yogurt and eggs until combined; stir in the zucchini.

In a separate small mixing bowl, stir the flour, cinnamon, baking soda, and salt.  Add the dry ingredients to the yogurt mixture, stirring until just mixed (the batter will be thick).

Spray the griddle with nonstick cooking spray.  Use an ice cream scoop or large spoon to spread the batter onto the griddle (since the batter is thick, you will need to spread it out a bit to desired thickness).  Cook the pancakes about 2 to 3 minutes on each side or until cooked.  Serve with Greek yogurt, honey, and/or maple syrup.[/print_this]

11 thoughts on “Zucchini Spice Greek Yogurt Pancakes”

  1. Liz, can you believe that I’ve never made any baked good with zucchini before? TRUTH! Pancakes look like a safe place to start though. Esp if they involve chobs. Perfect fuel for our runs, right?? you can live through me vicariously in my fall weather! 🙂

    1. You’re kidding! Never baked anything with zucchini? Actually, I should be one to talk — I hadn’t until a year or so ago either. I love it because it acts a lot like banana can in recipes, but the flavor isn’t overpowering at all so you can really build it however you like.

    1. I think they would, Kelly! You might want to add 1/2 tsp of guar or xanthan gum (it helps thicken/bind when you’re using a GF flour). If you try it, let me know how the GF version turns out.

  2. Don’t worry, you can come to my house, er, blog, to vicariously experience fall, hehe! In fact, I’m breaking out the pumpkin in time for a recipe next week. These pancakes look fabulous, and I have just got a couple zucchini at the farmers market; now I know exactly what to do with them!

Leave a Reply

