Snickers Peanut Butter Bars

Hello and Happy Tuesday!  Hopefully you’re fully rested after the long weekend. 🙂

In support of my new school, I went to my first Florida State football game over the weekend!  Being a ‘Cuse fan for life, I’d never really taken part in a full-fledged college football tailgate and, despite the heat and humidity (I still don’t understand why/how football is played outside in Florida in August?), it was a pretty fun time.  This weekend I need to make friends with the guy who has two flat screen TV’s and five fans under his tent.  Scheming begins now…

Maybe I’ll offer him these Snickers peanut butter bars in exchange for his hospitality. 😉  I whipped up these bars on Friday night and brought them to share with our tailgating gang.  I figured I couldn’t go wrong with peanut butter and candy bars.  Plus, based on sponsorship and advertising, I’d say Snickers is one of the sportiest candy bars out there. 🙂

The bars themselves are essentially a peanut butter cookie loaded with chopped Snickers bars which, once baked, makes for a gooey chewy bar with crisp edges.  Next time, I’m going to through extra Snickers bars on top right in the last 5 minutes of baking.  Someone try that, OK?

To all you seasoned tailgaters, what are your favorite tailgating foods?  My mind has been churning with possible ideas for future tailgates. 🙂

[print_this]Snickers Peanut Butter Bars

Crunchy peanut butter cookie bars with chopped Snickers chocolate candy bars.  For extra chocolatey bars, add extra Snickers bars on top the of cookies in the last 5 minutes of baking.

Makes 20 bars

Prep time: 15 minutes

Cook time: 20 minutes

  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 1/4 cup crunchy peanut butter
  • 1 large egg
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup chopped Snickers candy bars

Heat the oven to 350 degrees F.  Spray a 9-inch square baking pan with nonstick cooking spray.

In a large mixing bowl, beat the sugars and peanut butter with an electric mixer on medium speed until fluffy.  Add the egg; mix until blended.  Stir in the baking soda, baking powder, and salt, then add the flour, mixing until a soft dough forms.  Stir in the chopped candy bars.

Spread the cookie dough into the prepared baking pan.  Bake 20 minutes or until the edges are golden brown.  Allow the bars to cool at least 30 minutes before cutting into bars.[/print_this]

6 thoughts on “Snickers Peanut Butter Bars”

  1. I love easy peasy bar recipes like this! Esp ones involving peanut butter. And my other lover.. SNICKERS!! Oh and I love that it’s a “smaller” batch recipe… I favor those over bar recipes made in a 9×13 pan! I was waiting for you to post this recipe, Liz. 🙂

Leave a Reply

