Smarties Cookies

Woohoo, it’s already Thursday!  All in favor of the four-day work week, say I!  Actually, I’m a bit spoiled by the fact that Thursday is sort of like Friday for me, since I don’t have classes on Fridays.  But something tells me hours upon hours of reading and writing offsets that fact.  Anywho…

In juggling school, moving, etc., I still owe you a few final posts on my summer trip to Europe — including a tour of my own personal Disneyworld, Switzerland! — but while we wait, I thought I’d share these cookies with you, which I made with one of my favorite candies I brought back from my trip — Smarties!

My sister introduced me to Smarties years ago, which are Nestle’s oh-so-crisp-and-delicious version of an M&M… you can find them all of Europe, as well as Canada and Australia.  I snacked on them while walked everywhere around London during the Olympics (speaking of, how awesome is my Olympics oven glove?!), and made sure to bring some back with me to the US.

It should come as no surprise to you that a few of these little candies made their way into my kitchen and ended up in a chewy, delicious sugar cookie. 🙂

If you’ve ever had an M&M’s sugar cookie, these are just like those, except a billion times tastier because they have Smarties in them instead of M&Ms.

Does anyone know where I can find Smarties in the US?!  I might just need to take another trip back to the UK to stock up. 😉

[print_this]Smarties Cookies

Soft, chewy sugar cookies with crisp edges, with candy-coated chocolate Smarties candies on top.  If you must, you can substitute M&Ms, but Smarties are recommended!  This is a small-batch recipe but it can easily be doubled or tripled for a crowd.

Makes 1 1/2 dozen cookies

Prep time: 15 minutes

Cook time: 10 to 12 minutes

  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/3 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon fine sea salt
  • 1 1/3 cups all-purpose flour
  • Smarties candy

Heat the oven to 350 degrees F.  Line two large cookie sheets with parchment paper.

In a large mixing bowl, beat the butter and sugars with an electric mixer until smooth.  Add the egg, and vanilla; beat until smooth.  Add the baking soda and salt; beat until mixed well.  Gradually add the flour, 1/3 cup at a time, until smooth.

Drop the cookie dough by rounded tablespoon onto the prepared cookie sheets.  Bake 10 to 12 minutes or until the edges are golden brown.  Immediately press the Smarties candies into the cookies (however many you’d like).  Allow to cool 2 to 3 minutes before removing from cookie sheets to cool completely.[/print_this]

11 thoughts on “Smarties Cookies”

  1. They look and sound yummy and I’ll likely make them this weekend (and send into work with my hubs so we don’t eat all of them!). But…a little cOnfusion over the recipe. There’s no yogurt in the ingredient list, but your directions say to beat the butter and yogurt. I’m guessing you mistakenly added yogurt in the directions since most of your yuy creations include yogurt! Or, should it be in the ingredient list? Thanks!

    1. Haha, you were spot on with your guess — I guess I’ve gotten into the habit of writing yogurt/butter. 🙂 No yogurt in these cookies, just buttery deliciousness 😉 Thanks for keeping me honest!

  2. Yesss, I love these cookies! Smarties are one of my favorite UK candies–does your grocery store have an international section? I can sometimes find them there. And that oven mitt is so great–funnily enough, my boyfriend was in London during the Olympics and brought me back an apron with the same pattern! We can be baking twins. 🙂

    1. I saw the apron and was torn between which to buy! The apron was very cute!

      I’m going to have to check out my grocery stores around here… fingers crossed!

  3. Loving these, just right for easter too !
    If you need smarties – Just ask, willing to ship for you from here in the UK xx

Leave a Reply

