Almond Joy Granola

Happy… Saturday?!  Gosh, time sure flies when you’re a doctoral student… it’s funny (or, sad) that the weekends basically blend into the weekdays for me these days in terms of workload.  Anywho, I thought I’d pop in here quick to share a candy-ish recipe with you.  You know, seeing as how we’re only about a month from Halloween now!

Even though candy corn is easily my favorite Halloween candy, one of my other favorites the fun size Almond Joy candy bars.  Something about the combination of coconut and chocolate is so delicious.  Anyway, since I seem to be on quite the granola-making kick these days, I decided to deconstruct Almond Joy candy bars in a batch of granola.

Now, to decide which Halloween candy to turn into granola next… I’d say it’s only a matter of time before candy corn makes an appearance. 😉

[print_this]Almond Joy Granola

Almond Joy — the coconut-almond chocolate bar — in granola form.  If you’d like, toss in a few chopped Almond Joy candy bar pieces once the granola has cooled.

Makes about 2 cups

Prep time: 10 minutes

Cook time: 30 minutes

  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 1/4 cup sliced almonds
  • 1/4 cup sweetened shredded coconut
  • 1/4 teaspoon sea salt
  • 2 tablespoons coconut oil
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 10 to 15 drops liquid stevia
  • 1/4 cup miniature semisweet chocolate chips

Heat the oven to 300 degrees F.  Line a baking pan with parchment paper or aluminum foil.

In a large mixing bowl, stir the oats, almonds, coconut, and salt.  Stir in the oil, vanilla, and stevia, mixing until combined.

Spread the mixture into the prepared baking pan.  Bake 20 minutes, stirring half way through baking.  Remove the granola from the oven and stir.  Add the chocolate chips, then bake 5 to 10 minutes, until the granola is golden brown.  Allow the granola to cool completely before serving.  Store the granola in an airtight container.[/print_this]

13 thoughts on “Almond Joy Granola”

  1. Congrats on making it through your first few weeks! When my boyfriend/roomate when back to law school last year, I Think he spent more time at the library than at home over the weekends. We had to get down a routine of DVRing the football games ot catch up on at night. Looking forward to candy corn everything! One my little patients bought me a bag yesterday because she knows that I love it and I am super excited to start making some recipes. Now, I just have to find those candy corn Oreos! The hunt begins today…

    1. Thank you! Haha, I try not to spend time at the library (such a “study” environment) but I definitely spend a ton of time doing work in other places! I need to start DVRing things, it’s amazing how much my TV watching has decreased. Go find the candy corn oreos!

    1. Sometimes I wish they’d make a Almond Joy/Mounds combo bar, because I love the dark chocolate of mounds, but I love the nuts in Almond Joy. They’d probably do that if I requested, right? 😉

  2. I love almond joy! I agree with you, love the dark chocolate of mounds and the almond in the almond joy. They should combine the two!

    I love to make my own granola, this will be happening in my kitchen soon!

    1. Making granola is one of those things that every time I do it, without fail, I think to myself, gosh I’ve got to do this more often! So much cheaper than buying it at the store, and you get to determine what goes into it. You should give this one a try, I love it!

Leave a Reply

