Espresso Toblerone Cookies

Woohoo, it’s Monday!  And I’m posting a recipe!  I vowed to get back into a regular routine here this week… So far, so good. 🙂

I have sad news… I’ve had a bag of miniature Toblerone candy bars that I brought back from Europe, and they’re almost gone.  Now, I know what you’re thinking… Toblerone is sold in United States grocery stores.  But it’s just not the same!  I like being able to think I’m eating chocolate fresh from Switzerland.  Note to self: next time you’re in Europe, bring an extra suitcase for candy.

Anyway… part of the reason I’m running low on my European supply of Toblerone’s is because of these delicious cookies I made a couple weeks ago.  I was drinking coffee and snacking on a couple mini Toblerone candies (because everyone eats candy in the morning with their coffee…) and thought to myself, “this combo would be great in cookie form.”  So I grabbed some instant coffee and baked up a batch of espresso Toblerone cookies!

These cookies are incredibly soft and chewy, and the chocolate melts into the cookies as they bake, so you end up with chocolate laced in every bite.  And the instant coffee is subtle enough not to overwhelm the cookie, but strong enough to know it’s there.  It’s just right. 🙂

P.S. If like me you try to ration your consumption of these cookies by freezing them, be forewarned: they’re equally delicious straight from the freezer on a hot afternoon. 😉

[print_this]Espresso Toblerone Cookies

Soft, chewy espresso flavored cookies with chopped Toblerone candy in every bite.  If you’d like, add chopped almonds as well for a crunchier cookie.

Makes 1 1/2 dozen large cookies

Prep time: 15 minutes

Cook time: 10 to 12 minutes

  • 1 1/2 tablespoons instant coffee granules
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons hot water
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/3 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon fine sea salt
  • 1 1/3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup chopped Toblerone candy bars

Heat the oven to 350 degrees F.  Line two large cookie sheets with parchment paper.

In a small bowl, stir the instant coffee and water until the coffee granules dissolve; set aside.

In a large mixing bowl, beat the butter and sugars with an electric mixer until smooth.  Add the egg, vanilla, and coffee; beat until smooth.  Add the baking soda and salt, and beat until mixed well.  Gradually add the flour, 1/3 cup at a time, until smooth.  Stir in the chopped candy.

Drop the cookie dough by rounded tablespoon onto the prepared cookie sheets.  Bake 10 to 12 minutes or until the edges are golden brown.  Allow to cool 2 to 3 minutes before removing from cookie sheets to cool completely.[/print_this]

13 thoughts on “Espresso Toblerone Cookies”

    1. Seriously, the quality of the chocolate itself is so much better! But I’m not going to stop eating American candy… I mean, it’s still candy. 😉

  1. the street I grew up on… one of our neighbors gave out full size Toblerones for Halloween! we LOVED that guy. 🙂

    I can tell these are so chewy – perfect. going on my list of LBB Recipes I Need To Make…

    1. I’d have changed costumes so I could sneak extras from him, ha! List of LBB Recipes to make – you mean recipes to test for our bakery, right? 😉

  2. Great post! I’m sharing. And you’re right, Swiss chocolate bought in the States is NOT the same! You know why? “Different cows.” Yes, that was the explanation I was given, and it’s true! Their cows eat grass and flowers. Our cows eat corn and get shot up with hormones. Better cows, better milk, better chocolate.

    1. Wow, that is really interesting about the cows! I’d believe it – they say the water is what makes NYC pizza and bagels so unique! Anyway, now I’m really craving some good chocolate…

Leave a Reply

