Chocolate Chip Cookie Granola

This granola is… so good that I’m thinking of foregoing hours of brainstorming possible holiday gifts for all of my friends and family and instead, providing everyone with their very own stash of the best granola ever (this granola).

In fact, it’s so good that I briefly contemplated dropping out of school to start my own granola company.  And then I remembered the 3048 other granola companies out there, and decided to stay in school.  But hey, it could be a good retirement venture…

Back to the granola.  If I haven’t sold you yet on the incredibly delicious factor, how about this:  it’s literally made in three steps: (Step 1) combine cookie dough + oats, (Step 2) bake, (Step 3) add chocolate chips.

Darn it, now my secret granola recipe is out.

I don’t know why I never did this sooner, but I’m so thankful that the cup of leftover cookie dough I had sitting in my fridge for a week ended up making its way into a mixing bowl with oats.  It’s a sneaky way to be able to eat chocolate chip cookies for breakfast, in my opinion. 🙂

Of course, I’ve been enjoying this granola atop cups of Chobani.  My favorite flavor combo so far is just simple vanilla CHO, but let’s be serious, any time you combine cookie granola and the best Greek yogurt, it’s all good. 😉

[print_this]Chocolate Chip Cookie Granola

Chocolate chip cookies in granola form.  Seriously!  Add chopped walnuts if you’d like, but you’ll find the simplicity of just chocolate chips is fantastic.

Makes about 4 cups

Prep time: 20 minutes

Cook time: 30 minutes

  • 1 cup prepared cookie dough*
  • 2 cups old fashioned (rolled) oats
  • 1/3 to 1/2 cup miniature chocolate chips

Heat the oven to 325 degrees F.  Line a 13×9-inch baking pan with parchment paper or aluminum foil.

In a medium mixing bowl, stir the cookie dough and oats until mixed well.  Crumble the mixture onto the prepared pan.

Bake 25 to 30 minutes, stirring every 10 minutes, until the granola is light golden brown.  Allow the granola to cool 15 to 20 minutes, then sprinkle the chocolate chips over the granola (do not stir yet!  the chocolate chips will melt).  Allow the granola to cool completely before transferring to an airtight container for storage (or dig right in!).

*For the cookie dough, I use my favorite chocolate chip cookie dough recipe, preparing the same way I always do.  But when you’re about  to add the chocolate chips, stop.  Measure out a cup of cookie dough, and use this to prepare the granola.  Save the rest of the cookie dough for future granola batches, or snacking. 😉[/print_this]

14 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Cookie Granola”

  1. AWE.SOME. Seriously, you managed to take two of the greatest things ever created and make the sum even better than the parts. Think anyone will mind if we duck out of work early to make this? 😉

    Amy
    @Chobani

  2. Oh what a great use for cookie dough! There are times when I have more cookie dough than I actually need to make cookies with…after 2-3 dozen, I’m kinda…ready for a change. Now I can make granola with it. Love this, Liz!

    1. That’s exactly why I ended up making this — had extra cookie dough and wanted to put it to use (other than cookies). Why haven’t we been doing this all along?!

      1. I am definitely going to try it! Especially because I really do like making granola, I just don’t always like what it tastes like 🙂 ……but I’m pretty sure you can’t go wrong when it includes cookie dough.

Leave a Reply

