Running update.

Remember the time I signed up to run the Chicago marathon?  Oh wait, but then, remember the time I slipped on ice and my hopes of running Chicago slowly slipped away?  Ah, the life of a runner. 😉

I’ve known for months that running Chicago this year wasn’t in the cards, but gosh, the million race-related emails I received leading up to the race made me a little sad.  And then there was this:

Look, I almost ran the race!  We’ll just say my chip didn’t register my times. 😉  (PS – congratulations to everyone who ran, apparently it was a great day for a marathon!)

Anyway… there hasn’t been much talk of running around these parts over the past few months because, well, I hadn’t been doing much running. 🙂

When I moved to Florida in August, my back was still bugging me a decent amount, and the heat/humidity was just extra reason not to run.  Plus, beginning school was a big adjustment in itself, so workouts sort of took a back seat for awhile.  Little by little though, I’ve gotten that itch to start running again.  I blame fall marathons and my love for Saturday long runs this time of year. 🙂

So far, my back has been cooperating more now than it has been at any other point since I injured it last winter.  Some days it feels a little worse than others, but never any sharp pains!  I just keep icing and keep my fingers crossed on that one…

As for my training, I’ve fallen into a routine of running four or five days a week for now.  I do two shorter (~5 mile), one medium (~7-8 mile), and one long run each week.  Just yesterday, I did 12 miles for my long run!  And under Florida’s hot sun, no less.  I can’t begin to tell you how I excited I am for it to get a bit cooler around here. 🙂

So, that’s my running update.  Assuming my back cooperates, I’ll probably keep increasing my mileage little by little.  Maybe I’ll sign up for a half marathon or marathon in the winter… maybe not.  It’s sort of strange to be doing long runs without a race to train for, but it also keeps the pressure off, and I have a enough pressure to deal with in school. 😉

5 thoughts on “Running update.”

    1. Thank you! And yes, definitely excited for winter running here in Florida — there’s a marathon here in Tallahassee in February I mayyy do (or at least the half!)

Leave a Reply

