Pumpkin Pomegranate Couscous

Once upon a time, I walked into the grocery store intending to buy meat… so I could make chili.  I walked out with 14 containers of Chobani Greek yogurt, a giant can of pumpkin, and a bag of baby arugula.  #staples

The next day, when I realized my Chobani distraction made me forget to buy meat, I decided I’d make veggie chili.  And then I realized I forgot to buy canned tomatoes.  I was standing in The Fresh Market, staring at tomatoes when I spotted the Chobani sale.  #darnyouchobani! #justkiddingyouarethebest

Chili obviously wasn’t in the cards.  But I did have 14 containers of Chobani, a giant can of pumpkin… and arugula?

So I did what I do best…

…and pumpkin pomegranate couscous was born. 🙂

I cooked up some Trader Joe’s Harvest Grains Blend (which is primarily Israeli couscous, with some other grains like quinoa and orzo mixed in), then combined pumpkin puree and Chobani pomegranate Greek yogurt to create a creamy, delicious, comforting dish.

I think pomegranate was a great choice since pomegranate always comes into season as we approach the holiday season.  In fact, I think I will make this again at Thanksgiving and add real pomegranate seeds! 🙂

[print_this]Pumpkin Pomegranate Couscous

Pumpkin puree and Chobani Greek yogurt combine to make a creamy, comforting dish.  It would make a great side at your holiday dinners!

Serves 4 to 6

Prep time: 20 minutes

Cook time: 20 minutes

  • 3 cups cooked Israeli couscous (1 1/2 cups dry)
  • 1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/4 cup diced onion
  • 1 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1 (6-ounce) container Chobani pomegranate yogurt
  • Pomegranate seeds (optional add-in)
  • Salt and pepper, to taste
  • Arugula, for garnish

Heat the oil in a large saucepan over medium heat.  Add the onion, stirring until tender.  Reduce the heat to low; add the pumpkin and yogurt, stirring until smooth and heated through.  Add the cooked couscous and (optional) pomegranate seeds; add salt and pepper to taste.  Simmer, covered, for about 5 to 10 minutes.  Garnish with fresh arugula, if desired.[/print_this]

14 thoughts on “Pumpkin Pomegranate Couscous”

    1. Haha! Well, we could say you’re a breath of fresh air in the blog world, because while 99% of us are using pumpkin right now, we can count on you for some non-pumpkin goodness. 😉

    1. Thanks, Averie! The sauce is so creamy from the pumpkin and Cho. Makes me want to start cooking with Greek yogurt more often!

    1. Ahh, the Israeli couscous is SO good! I had tried regular couscous before, but the Israeli kind is larger, and almost pasta-like. So good!

Leave a Reply

