Pumpkin Avocado Bread

The sun is probably going to come out right after I type this, but the skies have been in rare form here in Florida over the past few days — it’s been overcast!  I know, I didn’t think such a thing was possible in the sunshine state, but apparently it is.  That, combined with much cooler temperatures — we’re talking 40’s when I wake up! — has finally made it feel a bit like fall down here.  Woohoo!

Another thing that is sure to make it feel like fall, regardless of the temperature or number of clouds in the sky, is this pumpkin avocado bread.  Yep, you read that right.  Pumpkin avocado bread.

I might be biased, but my mom’s pumpkin bread recipe is the best.  It is so incredibly moist, thanks to the pumpkin, but also because of the oil in the recipe.  I’m all for oil keeping a recipe nice and tasty, but from time to time I like to keep things a bit healthier.  So a few weeks ago I asked my mom to send me her pumpkin bread recipe, and with the help of an avocado, I gave it a little makeover. 🙂

I replaced the oil called for in the recipe with avocado — and nothing else!  The avocado keeps the bread just as moist (if not more moist?) than the oil version, and it also adds a punch of nutrition.

…because we could all use a little extra nutrition as we head into the holiday season. 😉

As you might be able to see, the bread does have a few green chunks here and there from the avocado, but that’s because I only mashed my avocado.  If you’re scared of the green stuff, you could puree the avocado in a food processor for a sneakier result!

[print_this]Pumpkin Avocado Bread

Ripened avocado makes for an incredibly moist and healthier version of pumpkin bread.  This recipe could easily be made into muffins, and feel free to add dried fruit or chocolate chips to the bread.

Makes 1 large loaf

Prep time: 15 minutes

Cook time: 1 hour

  • 1 2/3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 3/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 ripe avocado, mashed
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 1 cup pumpkin puree (not pumpkin pie mix)

Heat the oven to 350 degrees F.  Spray a loaf pan with nonstick cooking spray (I use a 10×5 inch pan).

Mix the flour, baking soda, cinnamon, nutmeg, and sugar in a large mixing bowl.  Make a well in the middle of the bowl, and add the mashed avocado, eggs, water, and pumpkin.  Mix the wet ingredients together a bit before mixing them into the dry ingredients, stirring until just mixed.

Spread the batter into the prepared loaf pan.  Bake about 1 hour or until a toothpick inserted into the center of the pan comes out with just a few crumbs.[/print_this]

16 thoughts on “Pumpkin Avocado Bread”

  1. I’ve never thought to use avocado in baking instead of oil! That is so brilliant – I bet the bread is delicious. Definitely going to try this soon! 🙂

    1. Since you’ll be making it all winter, you definitely need to try it with avocado at some point! It’s a nice little variation!

  2. I am wondering about on your blog, cause pictures are tmeting me to see more and more. And bum I have found another yummy looking something. And now I wanna try them both. Avocado pie and this one…….

  3. I made this yesterday but did it as muffins. Replaced 1/3 cup of the flour with flax meal and added chocolate chips…my husband and toddler both loved them which is a first! They are also much less crumbly than regular muffins so breakfast/snack time isn’t so messy 🙂

    1. I love the idea of adding flax and chocolate chips here!! Awesome idea. And also loving the muffin idea, great for a portable snack. I may take your tips for my own use. 🙂

  4. Yes! I truly love putting avocado in foods, like I scare my family. I cook with pumpkin ALL the time as well! Mmmm, pumpkin + avo + bread = amazing and addictive. I really shouldn’t have clicked on this. Pinned! (I think I’ll try it half whole wheat, too, and let you know what I think when I make it.)

    1. I’m glad you share my love for pumpkin and avocado! What do you put avocado in? I still need to venture into chocolate desserts with avocado!

  5. I just made this and am waiting for it to cool. It looked pretty good when I took it out of the oven, but after it had cooled for 10 minutes it was flatter, and then when I turned it out of the bundt pan it flattened more. Just hope it tastes good. Seems like it needs something to keep it from falling. Maybe I needed to cook it longer, but it was brown on top and the toothpick was just barely moist. Any suggestions?

  6. OK- just sliced a piece of this cake. Nasty. The batter was very good, so I was very disappointed. I think maybe I needed to cook it a lot more. Very soggy. Will have to throw it out.

Leave a Reply

