Cinnamon Chip Caramel Molasses Cookies

My mom isn’t very into baking.  She makes a mean pumpkin bread, and super puffy “snow day” chocolate chip cookies (called “snow day” because she only bakes them on snow days), but I definitely didn’t inherit my baking addiction from her.  Which means when I am at her house — like I was last week for Thanksgiving — my baking supplies are limited (you know, because she doesn’t stock 5 different types of flour like I do).

Luckily, the one thing my mom always seems to have a steady supply of this time of year are cinnamon chips.  Because as she says, “everything is better with cinnamon chips.” 🙂

So last week when I was home, I dug into my mom’s cinnamon chip stash, grabbed some caramel baking bits, and whipped up these cinnamon chip caramel molasses cookies.

Gosh.  Even though I was surrounded by a billion pies on Thursday, I couldn’t seem to stop nibbling on these cookies.  The molasses is subtle in flavor but makes the cookies so chewy, and the cinnamon chips and caramel bits in every bite make for a super sweet cookie.  They are the perfect way to ease into holiday cookie season!

[print_this]Cinnamon Chip Caramel Molasses Cookies

Soft and chewy molasses cookies with sweet cinnamon chips and caramel baking bits.  If you can’t find caramel baking bits (which are located in the baking aisle near the chocolate chips), just chop up soft caramels and add those to the cookie dough.

Makes 3 dozen

Prep time: 15 minutes

Cook time: 10 minutes per cookie sheet (~3 cookie sheets)

  • 1 cup unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 1/2 cups brown sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/4 cup molasses
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup caramel baking bits
  • 1 cup cinnamon chips

Heat the oven to 350 degrees F.

In a large mixing bowl, beat the butter and sugar with an electric mixer on high speed until fluffy.  Add the eggs and molasses and beat until mixed.  In the same bowl, add the cinnamon, ginger, baking powder and salt and beat until mixed.  Add the flour, 1/2 cup at at time, and beat on medium speed until mixed well.  Stir in the caramel bit and cinnamon chips.

Drop the dough by rounded tablespoon onto ungreased cookie sheets.  Bake 10 minutes or until edges are light golden brown.  Allow the cookies to cool on the pan 5 minutes, then transfer to wire racks to cool completely.[/print_this]

Similar cookie recipes:

15 thoughts on “Cinnamon Chip Caramel Molasses Cookies”

  1. You know, I’ve never baked with cinnamon chips before! I’m so boring – I usually stick to variations of chocolate chips… I should probably change that! And, I haven’t baked anything in awhile and was just thinking about how I should – maybe I’ll pick up some cinnamon chips and get crazy, hah!

    1. Oh gosh, you need to try baking with cinnamon chips! They seriously make everything taste better, and they’re terrific for snacking too 😉

  2. Trying this tomorrow and because we could not find caramel baking bits & I did not read the note on top I will be subbing toffee chips. Hopefully they will turn out well.

      1. The toffee chips worked well. You had little crunchy bits throughout the cookie. Glad I tried this new recipe as it was a big hit with my family.

Leave a Reply

