Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Guess who has officially finished her first semester of school as a doctoral student?!

This calls for celebrations… of the chocolate chip variety!

*flashbacks to lbbake’s early days of chocolate chip thursday’s* 🙂

I cannot tell you how excited I am to have a few weeks off.  I am heading up to New York today, and my “obligations” for the next three weeks include baking, running, watching Syracuse basketball (it’s basketball season! yayyy!), and taking two trips to New York City.  Life is rough. 😉

Back to those chocolate chips I mentioned… for some reason, over the weekend I couldn’t get the idea of a serious chocolate chip cookie out of my mind.  I mentioned it before, but for some reason I gravitate toward traditional cookie types this time of year.

So, I went to Target (where I successfully went in with closet hangers, chocolate chips, and nail polish and came out with only those items!) and loaded up on chocolate chips… semi-sweet, milk, and dark.  Yep… I made triple chocolate chip cookies!

I used my Levain Bakery copycat chocolate chip cookie dough as a guide, which made for a super-soft cookie with crisp edges — I decreased the flour in the original recipe, which I think helped make the cookies a bit more crisp, and a little less cakey.

The variety of chocolate in these cookies probably would go unnoticed by some, but if you’re a chocolate lover, you will totally notice and love them!

[print_this]Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Soft chocolate chip cookies with crisp edges, loaded with with semi-sweet, milk, and dark chocolate.

Makes 3 dozen cookies

Prep time: 20 minutes

Cook time: 15 minutes

  • 1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, chilled
  • 1 cup light brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 3/4 teaspoon fine sea salt
  • 3/4 tablespoon cornstarch
  • 2 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup milk chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup dark chocolate chips

Heat the oven to 350 degrees.  Line two large cookie sheets with parchment paper.

In a large mixing bowl, cream the butter and sugars with an electric mixer on medium speed.  Add the eggs and vanilla, mixing until blended.  Stir in the baking powder, baking soda, salt, and cornstarch, mixing until blended.  Gradually add the flour, mixing until just blended.  Fold in the chocolate chips, ensuring they are evenly distributed in the cookie dough.

Roll the cookie dough into 1 1/2 inch balls, and place on a cookie sheet two inches apart.  Place the cookie sheets in the freezer for 10 minutes before baking (this is optional, but give the cookies a crisp outside!).

Bake 20 to 25 minutes or until the edges are golden brown (it is okay if the cookies are still a little gooey in the middle!).  Allow the cookies to cool 5 to 7 minutes before removing from the cookie sheets.[/print_this]

11 thoughts on “Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies”

    1. Thanks! Yikes, good luck finishing the papers! I just finished my last one yesterday, 33 pages of fun. 😉 Stay positive and think of cookies!

    1. Thanks, Averie! On my “mission to find the perfect chocolate chip cookie” (I know you’re on a similar mission-for-life), I believe this cookie ranks near the top!

Leave a Reply

