Peanut Butter Balls

Can you believe Christmas is a week from today?  Time flies!

I feel like I’m behind this year on holiday treats… probably due to the fact that the first half of December was spent writing papers under sunny skies in Florida.  Luckily, I’m in New York now without a grown-up thing to do for a few weeks, which is quite conducive to making things like these easy, four-ingredient peanut butter balls.

I went Christmas cookie crazy last year, but I’m not really feeling that ambitious right now. 🙂  So, I’ve decided I’m going no-bake this year.

To get things started, I made what I believe is a classic no-bake holiday treat, peanut butter balls.  I know a lot of people make peanut butter balls for cookie exchanges and holiday get-togethers, and since I’d never made them, I figured now was a good time.

Since I’m a peanut butter addict, this recipe relies entirely on peanut butter, rather than a butter/peanut butter combination that many other recipes use.  Peanut butter > butter. 😉

Also, these little guys are gluten free.  I noticed a lot of recipes relied on either graham cracker crumbs or all-purpose flour.  Don’t get me wrong, I love graham crackers, and all-purpose flour is my go-to for countless recipes.  But I have a gluten free sister, so every now and then I try to make something that she can indulge in as well.

Minus the fridge-chilling time, these are literally done in less than 30 minutes, which means you have no reason not to make them. 😉  Enjoy!

[print_this]Peanut Butter Balls

A classic holiday treat, perfect for peanut butter and chocolate enthusiasts.  For a festive touch, decorate the peanut butter balls with sprinkles or candies.

Makes about 20

Prep time: 30 minutes

Cook time: 1 minute

  • 1 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup powdered sugar
  • 1/4 cup peanut flour
  • 1 1/2 cups semisweet or dark chocolate chips

In a small mixing bowl, mix the peanut butter, sugar, and flour until mixed well.  Form the mixture into balls approximately one inch in diameter; set the balls onto a large plate or cookie sheet.  Refrigerate 45 to 60 minutes.

Place the chocolate in a microwave-safe dish.  Microwave on High in 30-second increments, stirring occasionally, until the chocolate is melted.  Use a spoon to coat each ball with the melted chocolate, then place back onto the plate.  If desired, decorate with sprinkles, chocolate chips, or crushed peanuts. Refrigerate 1 hour, or until the chocolate is set.[/print_this]

11 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Balls”

    1. Oh yes, and I feel no need to go cookie crazy this year. My main goal is relaxing 🙂 Which I’m sure is yours as well, being in the tropics and all!

    1. As soon as I saw your post this afternoon I realized which pretzel bites you were talking about — yep, the filling looks exactly the same! I really like the no-butter version, and it makes me feel *slightly* less guilty, ha!

Leave a Reply

