Gingerbread Cookie Popcorn

Woohoo!  It’s December 21st and the world has not ended (yet?)!

I’ll tell you what I’d be eating if the world were about to end today, though… this popcorn.

Gingerbread cookie popcorn, to be specific…

It’s not your average Orville Redenbacher’s popcorn. 😉

But it is almost as easy!

Using plain (brown bag popped!) popcorn, this recipe starts out with very healthy intentions… and then takes a turn toward deliciousville. 😉

Let me tell you, if you combine cookie butter (aka biscoff spread), cinnamon chips, pumpkin pie spice, and molasses in a bowl… well, amazing things happen.

A quick stay in the microwave, and you’ve got yourself a sugary soup reminiscent of a warm, spicy gingerbread cookie.  I wouldn’t even hold it against you if you omitted the popcorn from this recipe. 😉

But when you toss your gingerbread cookie “soup” with the popcorn, the result is the most delicious holiday popcorn you ever did taste.  Move on over, caramel corn!

[print_this]Gingerbread Cookie Popcorn

This five-ingredient popcorn is reminiscent of a warm, spicy gingerbread cookie.  You will be amazed by how simple it is to prepare, which means you can enjoy batch after batch of this sweet snack!

Makes about 6 cups

Prep time: 10 minutes

Cook time: 1 minute

  • 6 cups popcorn (plain)
  • 1/2 cup Biscoff spread or Trader Joe’s cookie butter
  • 1/2 cup cinnamon chips
  • 1/4 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice
  • 1 tablespoon molasses (light or dark*)

Place on large piece (about 2 feet long) of waxed paper on a flat surface.

Place the popcorn in a large mixing bowl; set aside.

In a microwave-safe bowl, combine the remaining ingredients.  Microwave on high for 30 to 45 seconds, stirring every 15 seconds, until melted and smooth.  Pour the mixture over the popcorn and stir until the popcorn is evenly coated.  Spread the popcorn onto the waxed paper, spreading out into one layer.  Allow the popcorn to set (about 1 hour) before transferring to a container (or eat it right away!).

*I used dark molasses, which has a stronger, deeper flavor than a light molasses.  However, either will work for this recipe (it’s up to you!).[/print_this]

17 thoughts on “Gingerbread Cookie Popcorn”

    1. You’re right, the popcorn would make an awesome gift! But I recommend making a huuuge batch if that’s the case, because you’ll be tempted to eat it yourself 🙂

  1. Uh Muh Guh.

    you, my friend, are genius. I will be making this… I am spending the evening making treats for “Jason’s Girls” – his hairdresser and all the girls at his salon – one of those Men Only grooming places. 😉 I send treats with him when he goes for haircuts, and at the holidays I make a huge tray! I wonder if I have everything here to make this too…?

    happy holidays, my friend! XO

    1. It doesn’t surprise me one bit that YOU would make sure everyone you know ends up with treats around this time of year. 🙂 Happy holidays!!

    1. I had struggled to find a good way to enjoy the cookie butter, too (strange for me to say, but it’s just SO sweet!). But this is a perfect way to enjoy it!

  2. Liz, can you believe after searching for TWO years in Florida grocery stores (well, Orlando), I still have YET to find those darn cinnamon chips. GRR.

    1. That is so weird, I know I’ve found them in Tallahassee! I can’t remember where though, I will make a point to check though. 🙂

Leave a Reply

