Peanut Butter Banana Yogurt Pie {Gluten Free}

Peanut Butter Banana Yogurt Pie LBBakes

Remember that peanut butter yogurt pie I made with Chobani yogurt last year? (if you don’t, you should definitely click here)

Well, over the holidays, I made a new version of that pie of tart, creamy deliciousness.

What did I do?  I banana-fied it. 🙂

Peanut Butter Banana Yogurt Pie by Little Bitty Bakes

If you haven’t tried the new Chobani banana flavored Greek yogurt yet, I encourage you to jump in your car right now and go buy a container.  Actually, buy four containers, because you’ll need three for this gluten free peanut butter banana yogurt pie. The fourth container is for you to demolish immediately. 😉

The pie filling itself is so simple to prepare — really, the hardest part is probably slicing the bananas for the bottom layer of the pie!  Once you do that, you just mix up your yogurts and peanut butter, and before you know it, you’ll be slicing into a thick and creamy peanut butter pie that’s as tart as it is sweet.

Peanut Butter Banana Yogurt Pie Little Bitty Bakes

Since the filling was already gluten free, I decided to go ahead and make a gluten free pie crust, since we’ve got some folks in the family who spare themselves of gluten (I made this pie for Christmas).  I added a bit of peanut butter to the cereal crust, which I think brings together the entire pie quite nicely.  Of course, if you can’t be bothered making your own crust, just use a pre-made graham cracker crust.  I won’t tell anyone. 😉

Peanut Butter Banana Yogurt Pie crust Little Bitty Bakes

[print_this]Peanut Butter Banana Yogurt Pie

This gluten free pie is made with simple ingredients like Greek yogurt and peanut butter.  The addition of bananas and banana Greek yogurt give the pie a sweet and subtle banana flavor.

Serves 8 to 10

Prep time: 15 minutes

Cook time: 10 minutes (crust)

For the crust:

  • 2 cups Rice Chex cereal, finely crushed
  • 1/4 cup unsalted butter, softened
  • 2 tablespoons peanut butter, melted
  • 3 tablespoons granulated sugar

Heat the oven to 350 degrees F.

In a large mixing bowl, stir all of the crust ingredients until combined.  Spread into a nine-inch pie pan.  Bake 8 to 10 minutes, or until the crust is golden brown.  Allow the crusts to cool completely before filling with pie filling.

For the filling:

  • 2 large bananas, sliced thin
  • 2 cups Chobani vanilla Greek yogurt
  • 3 (6-ounce) containers Chobani banana Greek yogurt
  • 3/4 cup smooth peanut butter

Place the banana slices on the bottom of the prepared pie crust.

In a large mixing bowl, stir the yogurts and peanut butter with a wire whisk until blended.  Spread into the prepared pie shell, over the banana slices.  Chill the pie at least 4 hours, or overnight (the pie will be thicker the longer it is chilled).  Serve with whipped cream, if desired.[/print_this]

27 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Banana Yogurt Pie {Gluten Free}”

    1. Oh yeah, definitely dense, but in an awesome kind of way. 🙂 I actually came really close to just making a huge bowl of the filling for people to scoop onto their dessert plates, but in the end did the crust.

    1. Thanks, Ally! You should definitely try making a pie with yogurt as the base — it’s so much healthier but still just as tasty. Go ahead and make one for yourself!

    1. Haha, oh I know… I’m all about the Chobani in recipes lately, I need to lighten things up a bit after grazing on a few too many desserts over the holidays. 🙂

    1. I was actually making a “traditional” cereal crust (cereal, butter, sugar) but last minute, added a little peanut butter. One of my better decisions. 😉 I’ve got a slew of CHO recipes up my sleeve! Enjoy your package of goodies from them!

  1. Goodness. This looks awesome. I just wish I didn’t have a banana allergy… However, my husband would DIE if I presented him with this, so maybe I’ll save it for a rainy day and bake him one as a surprise? It looks delightful… and I’m jealous of all you people who can eat bananas without problems.

    1. A banana allergy?! Yikes, I’ve never known someone with one of those! The good thing is, you can easily make this pie for YOU and your husband to enjoy, by omitting the banana and using all vanilla yogurt instead. 🙂

      1. Yeah… it’s quite ridiculous and unfortunate, but it’s something I have been living with for years so I don’t necessarily miss bananas. And I will certainly omit the banana and just use vanilla yogurt. Thanks!

  2. If you want to dramatically lower the calories/fat on this, use any of the powdered peanut butters that are currently available. I make a delish fruit dip using it and plain greek yogurt, so I see no reason at all why it wouldn’t work perfect for this. And it’s only 45 calories, 1.5 g fat in 2 T vs. 180 calories, 15 g fat for regular peanut butter!!!

    1. Hi Michele, thanks for the tip on the powdered peanut butter! I’ve used them before and they are definitely a great way to get that PB taste for less calories.

  3. I made this today for a gift for Valentine’s day for my mom and grandma. I tried the filling and it was yummy. Granted I cheated and bought a chocolate crust and put a little chocolate syrup on top. Thanks for the recipe.

    1. Thanks for the feedback, Lindsey! And I totally approve the chocolate crust and the chocolate syrup – chocolate + banana + pb = good times.

Leave a Reply

