Vanilla Greek Yogurt Cupcakes and Frosting

Vanilla Greek Yogurt Cupcakes and Frosting

Cupcakes.  With sprinkles.  And… Greek yogurt!  Would you expect much else from me? 😉

I’m sharing these cupcakes today because it’s my mom’s birthday.  Happy birthday, mom!  🙂  I’m a thousand or so miles from my mom, so I figured we can just share a virtual cupcake today.

In fact, let’s all share a virtual cupcake, OK?

confetti cupcake

If you were wondering whether substituting Greek yogurt for part of the “normal” fat called for in cupcakes (like butter or oil) can still yield a tasty little cupcake, the answer is a big yes.  In fact, I’d go so far as to say that these little cakes made with Chobani vanilla Greek yogurt are even more moist.

In addition to Greek yogurt, I used coconut oil in these cupcakes, which I personally believe is the secret to a delicious made-from-scratch vanilla cake.  Coconut oil was once pretty hard to find, but I see it popping up in stores all over the place these days.  Try it if you see it! (but if you don’t have it, just replace the coconut oil called for in this recipe with softened butter).

As for the frosting, it’s packed with Greek yogurt as well.  The trick with the frosting is to strain the yogurt overnight before making the frosting, so that you’ve got a super thick yogurt to work with.  Otherwise you’ll end up with a really runny frosting that falls right off the cupcake.  The horror! 😉

Vanilla Cupcakes with Greek Yogurt Frosting

[print_this]Vanilla Greek Yogurt Cupcakes and Frosting

Light and fluffy vanilla cupcakes made with vanilla Greek yogurt, that taste just as good as the boxed mix.  The vanilla frosting is a lighter alternative to a vanilla cream cheese frosting.

Makes 12 cupcakes

Prep time: 30 minutes

Cook time: 20 minutes

  • 1 large egg + 2 large egg whites
  • 1/2 cup vanilla Greek yogurt
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil (or unsalted butter, softened)
  • 1/4 cup rainbow sprinkles, if desired (for a “funfetti” look)

Heat the oven to 350 degrees F. Line a cupcake pan with paper liners.

In a small mixing bowl, stir the eggs and yogurt with a wire whisk until combined. Set aside.

In a large mixing bowl, stir the sugar, flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Add the coconut oil; beat with an electric mixer on medium speed until mixed. Add the egg and yogurt mixture, beating until smooth. Fold in the rainbow sprinkles, if desired.

Spoon the cake batter into the prepared muffin tins (each cup should be about 2/3 full). Bake 15 to 20 minutes or until the cupcakes are light golden brown. Allow the cupcakes to cool completely before frosting.

Vanilla Greek Yogurt Frosting

  • 1/2 cup vanilla Greek yogurt, strained*
  • 1/4 cup unsalted butter, softened
  • 2 cups powdered sugar

In a large mixing bowl, beat the strained yogurt and butter with an electric mixer on medium speed until smooth.  Reduce the speed to low; add the powdered sugar ½ cup at a time, until smooth and creamy. Makes 2 ½ to 3 cups.

*Strain the yogurt for the frosting the night before making the cupcakes.  Line a small bowl or container with a few paper towels; place the yogurt over the paper towels.  Refrigerate overnight.  The next day, you’ll have a very thick yogurt, perfect for using in a frosting recipe![/print_this]

23 thoughts on “Vanilla Greek Yogurt Cupcakes and Frosting”

    1. Thanks, Julie! I can’t seem to stop adding Greek yogurt to anything I eat lately. What’s your favorite thing to add it to?

    1. I know, it’s a double punch of Greek yogurt! I’m supposed to be getting a CHO shipment sometime soon as well, they’re the best. Hopefully we get to enjoy some of the awesome new flavors. 🙂 Can’t wait to see what you make with some of yours!

  1. So let’s pretend it’s our birthday today and you can mail us some of these, mkay? They look amazing! Straining the CHO overnight really does make all the difference in having a non-runny frosting. You’re a pro, Liz! 😉

    Amy
    @Chobani

    1. Ha! You know, I bet that shipment could be arranged. 😉 ‘Til then, I’m sure you guys will make do with all the CHO you have access to!

  2. I just wanted to let you know I found this recipe and had to try it. I had some Chobani Bite Caramel and Pineapple flavor so I subbed that for the regular greek yogurt in the cupcake and icing. I subbed 1/2 c whole wheat for 1/3 of the all purpose flour. It took about 25 minutes to cook in my oven. I couldn’t wait overnight to drain my yogurt so I just used it as is. The icing was was not super runny. As soon as they came out of the oven I tried them and ……Man, oh man….these are some of the best cupcakes I have ever had. I just put a tablespoon of frosting over the warm cupcake and ate it with a fork. Super good! I am thinking I should try it with the Chobani Bite Coffee and Chocolate Chip yogurt next. It was really sweet(which is how I like it……probably because the yogurt I used was already sweetened) so if you don’t like that you may want to cut back on the sugar a bit if you use the Chobani Bite. Thanks for the recipe!

    1. Thank you for the feedback, Dorothy! I actually haven’t even tried the Chobani Bites yet. I know, I know – I need to go try them! I can only imagine how good these cupcakes would be with the caramel/pineapple!

    1. Hi Jennifer, I don’t calculate nutritional information for my recipes on the blog anymore, mostly because the ingredients people use can vary in terms of specific nutritional information of each ingredient. However, I can assure you these cupcakes are worth every bite!

  3. Can you tell me what I may have done wrong. Followed the directions to the letter but my muffins came out kind of dense (almost gooey) rather than cakey. Any suggestions?

    1. Hi Erika – I’m not sure what went wrong here. Were you using coconut oil or butter? That might make a slight difference (I recommend the coconut oil here). Also, if the cupcakes were gooey, they might have needed to bake a bit longer.

  4. I used the coconut oil but you’re probably right. They may need to bake longer. I had already hit the 20 minute mark and was afraid to over bake them. I’ll give that a try next time.

    Thanks!

  5. Can normal home-made yogurt be used instead of Greek yogurt? Help plz.I’m in a hurry and Greek yogurt is not available at home right now

Leave a Reply

