Toffee Oatmeal Blondies

Toffee Oatmeal Blondies by LBBakes

I’m really starting to wonder why brownies always get the spotlight when it comes to dessert bars.  Because if I’m being honest, I think blondies are where it’s at.  Especially when you involve oatmeal and milk chocolate toffee bits.

I actually made these blondies right before I left New York last month — I tried to leave my dad with a stash of desserts. 🙂  But I managed to steal one of my own, and let me tell you, this recipe is a keeper.

Toffee Oatmeal Blondies LBBakes

Per the semi-usual, I replace half the butter with Greek yogurt, which made for a softer, more cake-like consistency that a regular blondie.  You could totally swap the yogurt for an all-butter recipe, but I may not want to associate myself with you anymore.  Just kidding. 😉

Both the oatmeal and the milk chocolate toffee bits give the blondies a lot of chewiness and texture.  If you want to up the chocolate taste, you could add some chocolate chips as well.  *Or* you could use plain toffee bits and toss in some cinnamon chips.  Just giving you lots of options!

Toffee Oatmeal Blondies by Little Bitty Bakes

[print_this]Toffee Oatmeal Blondies

Soft blondie bars made with Greek yogurt for lightness, with oats and toffee bits added for texture and chewiness.

Makes 25 bars

Prep time: 20 minutes

Cook time: 25 minutes

  • 1/4 cup (1/2 stick) unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/4 cup Chobani plain nonfat Greek yogurt
  • 1/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup quick-cooking oats
  • 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup toffee baking bits (Heath)

Heat the oven to 350 degrees F.  Line a 8- or 9-inch square baking pan with parchment paper or aluminum foil, then spray with nonstick cooking spray.

In a large mixing bowl, beat the butter, yogurt, and sugars (by hand or with electric mixer) until creamy.  Add the egg and vanilla extract; mix until smooth.  Add the baking powder, salt, oats, and flour; stir until just mixed.  Stir in the toffee bits.

Spread the dough into the prepared pan.  Bake 25 minutes or until top is golden brown (a toothpick inserted may still be a bit gooey, but this is good!).  Allow the bars to cool 30 minutes before cutting into 5 x 5 rows (for 25 bars total).  Store the bars in an airtight container at room temperature.[/print_this]

16 thoughts on “Toffee Oatmeal Blondies”

    1. Aw, thanks Averie! I really appreciate that… And I definitely want to see you put some of that Chobani to use with baking!

  1. ooh, I don’t know, my friend – brownies are an almost constant craving for me. I do love a good blondie, though, and toffee makes EVERYTHING better. these look fantastic, I love the oats, I WILL be making these!

    1. I know, I know, I’m swimming against the current with such bold statements. 😉 Actually, just yesterday I found that the optimal situation is a bar which includes both brownies and blondies… coming soon. 🙂

    1. Ohh, those sound incredible! Unfortunately I’m all out of the Heath toffee bits, but you know, that’s nothing a trip to the store can’t fix. 🙂

  2. I’m sad we never got to meet up when you were back in NY, although I know things are always crazy busy during the holidays. And, I agree that blondies are really where it’s at – yours look so chewy and delicious!

    1. I know, it’s too bad we didn’t have time to get together, but you’re right, the holidays are just a crazy time of year. I’ll be in NY for awhile in the summer, so we definitely need to get together then!

  3. I made today and the texture was more cakey than blondie. The taste was really good but I might cut back on the oats next time. They tasted more like a breakfast bar and will be great with my coffee tomorrow:)

Leave a Reply

