Oreo Cake Batter Bars

Oreo Cake Batter Bars Little Bitty Bakes

I know, I know.  There’s a lot going on here.  Luckily, it’s just a whole lot of deliciousness. 😉

Sally’s cake batter blondies have been staring me down for a couple weeks now, so it only made sense to make them for the Super Bowl  last weekend.  But you know, since it was the “biggest sports day of the year” and all, I knew I needed to go big or go home when it came to dessert.

Oreo Cake Batter Bars LBBakes

Despite the crazy look of these bars, making them is actually fairly simple, thanks in large part to two cake mixes.

Chocolate cake batter + milk chocolate chips.  Oreo cookies.  Yellow cake batter + sprinkles + white chocolate chips.  Oreo frosting.  (You’re welcome).

A couple notes: For the base, I used a chocolate cake mix that I basically made into brownies, but you could also just use brownies for the base (just prepare a brownie mix per package instructions, or your favorite from-scratch recipe).  Also — and this is written in the recipe, but I cannot stress it enough — don’t worry if the bars don’t “seem” cooked all the way when you pull them from the oven.  They will set as they cool.  If you keep them in the oven until they feel firm, you won’t be as happy with the result.  Trust me!

Oreo Cake Batter Bars

These are my new favorite sugar coma dessert.  Hands down.

[print_this]Oreo Cake Batter Bars

Chocolate and yellow cake batter bars layered with Oreo cookies and Oreo frosting.  

Makes 24 bars

Prep time: 30 minutes

Cook time: 30 minutes

  • 1 box chocolate cake mix
  • 1 box yellow cake mix
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/2 cup canola oil
  • 2/3 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup milk chocolate chips
  • 1/4 cup rainbow sprinkles
  • 1/2 cup white chocolate chips
  • Oreo cookies

Heat the oven to 350 degrees F.  Spray a 13×9 inch baking pan with nonstick cooking spray.

Prepare the chocolate cake batter layer: In a large mixing bowl, stir the chocolate cake mix, 1 egg, 1/4 cup oil, 1/3 cup milk, and milk chocolate chips (stir until just mixed).  Spread into the prepared pan.  Press Oreo cookies over the top of the chocolate cake batter layer.

Prepare the yellow cake batter layer: In a large mixing bowl, stir the yellow cake mix, 1 egg, 1/4 cup oil, 1/3 cup milk, sprinkles, and white chocolate chips (stir until just mixed).  Spread into the pan, over the Oreos (the batter will be thick, so take your time spreading it over the Oreos!).

Bake for about 30 minutes, or until the edges are just golden brown.  The bars will be gooey in the center, but they will set as they cool. Once completely cool, spread the Oreo frosting over the bars.  Cut the bars into 4 rows by 6 rows using a sharp knife, wiping frosting away from the knife as necessary.  [/print_this]

[print_this]Oreo Frosting

Vanilla buttercream frosting with crushed Oreo cookies. 

Makes about 1 1/2 cups

  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened
  • 2 cups powdered sugar
  • 2 tablespoons vanilla extract
  • 1-2 tablespoons water
  • 4 Oreo cookies, finely crushed

In a large mixing bowl, beat all of the ingredients except the Oreo cookies with an electric mixer on high about 4 to 5 minutes, until light and fluffy.  Add additional water, one tablespoon at a time, for a thinner frosting.  Stir in the Oreo cookies.  Store any leftover frosting in an airtight container.[/print_this]

17 thoughts on “Oreo Cake Batter Bars”

  1. I mean seriously Liz… you KNOW I love these girl. You are like the queen of awesome today. Well, everyday but the fact that you threw 2 kinds of chocolate chips, oreos, SPRINKLES, and two kinds of cake into 1 bar is just pure decadent insanity. These look SO good and my dentist is now calling me. i wouldn’t have it any other way. 😉

    1. Yeah, I think I went a little crazy with these. 🙂 They are definitely one of those, “only make for very special occasions” kind of desserts. so. much. sugar!!

  2. So I made these tonight. I followed the directions exactly. I baked them for 30 minutes and when I took them out the whole top was golden brown, not just the edges, and I was worried that I had overcooked them. When we went to cut into them, the entire brownie layer was totally RAW. The very edges of the brownie had cooked, but other than that, it was totally raw. Not sure what happened but it was a total fail. So sad because they taste really good.

    1. Hi Kim – I’m sorry to hear about what happened! That’s strange because for me, the brownie layer cooks just fine. I guess I’d recommend cooking them a bit longer next time, or, you could bake the brownie layer for about 10 minutes by itself, then add the Oreo cookies and cake batter layer. Sorry again!

  3. This is my kind of dessert. And I totally agree some desserts should only be made on special occasions because of all the sugar. My problem is I end up convincing myself that this Tuesday is special because it’s Tuesday, its the beginning of the month, I need to be creative, I am craving something…basically any reason at all!

    Love the oreo frosting and sprinkles! Maybe I should make these on Sunday because it’s Sunday Funday? 😉

Leave a Reply

