Coconut Oil Sugar Cookies

Coconut Oil Sugar Cookies Little Bitty Bakes

If I could pick one of my favorite baking ingredients to have an abundance of — in addition to Greek yogurt, obviously — it’d be coconut oil.  Just opening a jar of it, you’re overwhelmed with the sweet and refreshing aroma… it’s almost like you’re on a warm, tropical island.  Almost.

I’ve made cakes and cupcakes with coconut oil in the past, and I absolutely love using it in homemade granola.  A couple weeks ago, my friend Averie inspired me with her coconut oil white chocolate cookies, and I knew it was time to venture into coconut oil cookie land. <– this is a very magical land.

Coconut Oil Sugar Cookies by Little Bitty Bakes

No butter is used in these cookies — all of the fat comes from the coconut oil, and I couldn’t love it more.  The cookies are pretty moist for a sugar cookie, and have great texture — crisp on the outside, chewy inside.

The actual flavor of coconut is very subtle, so if you’re not a huge coconut fan, you can still enjoy the cookies and the benefits of coconut oil.  If you’re a coconut fan though, I wouldn’t be opposed to the idea of rolling these in some coconut flakes before they go into the oven… this time I rolled with sprinkles though… next time!

Oh, and one more thing… this dough freezes really well!  I actually doubled my batch and froze half of the dough.  I grabbed the frozen dough last night and let it thaw on the counter for a couple hours, and in “no time” I had a fresh batch of cookies without having to whip up another batch of dough!

Coconut Oil Sugar Cookies

[print_this]Coconut Oil Sugar Cookies

Simple sugar cookies made with coconut oil (instead of butter) give them a rich flavor, with subtle notes of coconut.  Adapted from Averie’s Coconut Oil White Chocolate Cookies.

Makes about 1 1/2 dozen cookies

Prep time: 15 minutes

Cook time: 10 minutes

  • 1/2 cup coconut oil
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup bread flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon cornstarch
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • Sugar (for rolling cookies, if desired)

For best results, prepare the dough the day before baking.  

In a large mixing bowl, cream the coconut oil and sugar until smooth.  Add the egg and vanilla; stir until mixed.

In a separate medium mixing bowl, stir the flours, baking soda, cornstarch, and salt.  Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients, stirring until just combined.  Form the cookie dough into 1.5 inch balls.  Set the cookie dough balls on a large plate or baking sheet; cover and chill overnight (or at least 4 to 6 hours).

Once the dough is chilled:

Remove the cookie dough balls from the refrigerator about 20 minutes before baking (this will help them thaw out a bit and allow them to spread slightly as they bake).

Heat the oven to 350 degrees F.  Line cookie sheets with parchment paper.

If desired, place sugar or sprinkles in a shallow bowl.  Roll each cookie dough ball through the sugar/sprinkles, coating the outside completely.  Place the cookies about 2 to 3 inches apart on the prepared cookie sheets.  Bake 10 to 12 minutes, or until the edges are just golden brown.  Allow the cookies to cool for 5 minutes before removing from cookie sheets to cool completely.  Store the cookies in an airtight container.[/print_this]

18 thoughts on “Coconut Oil Sugar Cookies”

  1. So glad you tried coconut oil in your cookies! Glad you’re on board and they look great! I just made more coconut oil cookies that I’ll be blogging about soon and every time I use it instead of butter, I am just amazed; wonders never cease 🙂

    1. I’m completely on board and have you to thank for pushing me to try them! I meant to email you about them earlier this week but it was just a crazy week… can’t wait to see your new recipe! Have a great weekend. 🙂

    1. You should try coconut oil! It is a little pricey but I can usually find it at TJ Maxx or Marshalls for a lower price. And it’s so good for you!

  2. Hi Liz! I love your recipes using Chobani yogurt, and now coconut oil!! I have been using coconut oil in my hot tea for sometime now and as a moisturizer too. I look forward to any more recipes using coconut oil! My question, when using the coconut oil in recipes, do you measure the needed amount in it’s liquid form, or a solid?

    1. Hi Amy, thank you! It’s funny, I’ve actually thought about using coconut oil as a moisturizer — and/or lip balm?! Anyway, when I use coconut oil I measure it out in its liquid form.

  3. These look so pretty! I tried Avery’s recipe also, with some success. I love the texture from coconut oil and the light flavoring. Its also great for care package cookies because they stay soft and tasty for so long. My only tiny “but” is that they seem a little oily to me (like on your fingers after eating a cookie). Some butter cookies do that too. Did you experience that with these?

    1. Hi Wendy – I didn’t notice that these cookies were oily — but maybe I didn’t pay much attention, ha! That said, I’m sure I would have noticed if they were fairly oily. Hope that helps. 🙂

  4. Lovely cookies! I’ve been debating trying some coconut oil from Trader Joe’s, but wasn’t really sure what to do with it…I’ll have to try these for sure!

    1. Ah, Tracy you HAVE to go buy the coconut oil from Trader Joe’s!! I’m actually counting down the days ’til the TJ’s here opens up, so that I can take advantage of their better-priced items like coconut oil. But anyway… it is SO good for baking, you won’t regret it.

  5. These are delicious! My 6 year old was hesitant to eat cookies made out of lotion ( we use coconut oil as lotion in our family ) but once convinced, he rated them
    a very respectable 9/10…which is saying something since they
    don’t have any chocolate in them. The cookies turned out a bit thicker than I expected, but their texture was spot on. They were crispy on the outside and smooshy on the inside. Next time I plan on rolling them
    in shredded coconut instead of sugar sprinkles. Thank you for the great recipe!

    1. Thank you for the feedback, Zelia! I love the idea of rolling the cookies in shredded coconut – I’ll have to do that next time!

  6. I want to thank you for the recipe. I usually use coconut oil to steam veggies and in some of my breads. So this is new for me. I do use it often for my hair skin and nails. I am just waiting for the cookies to chill but wanted to suggest that if you or a close friend belongs to a warehouse club you might want to look there. I purchase mine for $16 for 54oz I know they have different brands and prices based on the location but the highest price I have seen is $22. Happy baking and again thank you for the recipe

  7. these look great! i was wondering- do you think these work as a rolled out sugar cookie that i can use a cookie cutter with, or are they too soft?

    1. Hi Keri, I think the dough would probably be too soft to use a cookie cutter. You could try adding an extra 1/4 cup of flour and chilling the dough, though – that might work!

Leave a Reply

