Oatmeal Pear Muffins

oatmeal pear muffin with Chobani

I know I’ve shared my love for the new Chobani banana yogurt, but Chobani has another new yogurt, pear.  Have you tried it?  Since I tend to compare pears to apples, I’d have to admit that I think I still like the apple cinnamon Chobani more (upstate New Yorker = big apple fan).  That said, the new pear flavor is still pretty darn delicious.

If you know me and this blog, it should be no surprise to you that I ended up baking something with the new pear yogurt. 🙂  I almost made Holly’s streusel pear coffee cake, but since I seem to be on a muffin cake lately (more on that soon!), I ended up making these simple oatmeal pear muffins.

Oatmeal Pear Muffins

When I say this recipe is simple, I mean it.  Besides the yogurt, I’d be willing to bet you’ve got every other ingredient in your kitchen right now.  And when it comes to preparing the recipe, it literally takes less than five minutes.  Just mix up your wet ingredients, your dry ingredients, and then combine!  So easy.

A couple tips:  make sure you only mix the batter until the ingredients are just combined.  You want soft, crumbly muffins, not bricks. 😉  And, it may seem odd to bake the muffins at a high temperature to start, but it’s a tip I learned from Sally — it makes sure you get a nice high muffin top — and we all know the top is the best part. 🙂

Oatmeal Pear Muffins with Chobani yogurt

The best part about these muffins is that even though there is no additional fruit added to the recipe, it seems like there is, since the Chobani yogurt had real chunks of pear in every cup.  Can’t argue with real, creamy goodness!

[print_this]Oatmeal Pear Muffins

A simple, wholesome muffin made with Chobani pear yogurt.  The yogurt contains real fruit, so you don’t need to add your own (although, if you’d like, you could add a half cup of chopped or dry fruit).  

Makes 12 muffins

Prep time: 5 minutes

Cook time: 25 minutes

  • 12 ounces (2 6-ounce containers) Chobani pear Greek yogurt
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/4 cup canola oil
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2 cups whole wheat white flour (or regular all-purpose flour)
  • 1 cup quick cooking oats
  • 4 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
  • Coarse sugar* (if desired)

Heat the oven to 425 degrees F.  Spray a muffin tin with nonstick cooking spray or line with paper liners.

In a small mixing bowl, stir the yogurt, milk, eggs, oil, and sugar until mixed.  Set aside.

In a large mixing bowl, combine the flour, oats, baking powder, salt, and spices.  Stir to combine.  Add the yogurt mixture to the dry ingredients, mixing gently with a rubber spatula until the batter is just mixed (the batter will be thick).

Scoop the batter into the prepared muffin tins.  If desired, sprinkle the top of each muffin with coarse sugar.  Bake at 425 degrees F for 5 minutes, then lower the heat to 375 degrees F and bake for 15 to 20 minutes or until the edges are golden brown and the muffins are fairly firm to touch.  Allow the muffins to cool in the tins 5 to 10 minutes before removing.  Store any leftover muffins in an airtight container.  You can also freeze any extra — simply wrap each muffin in aluminum foil, and place the muffins in a freezer bag.

*I topped the muffins with demerara sugar, which is a coarse brown sugar.  You could also use turbinado sugar (another coarse brown sugar), or any regular coarse sugar.[/print_this]

16 thoughts on “Oatmeal Pear Muffins”

  1. I adore the pear flavor chob, Liz. Def a new favorite of mine. Used it in a banana/pear smoothie last night! frozen bananas, pear chob, vanilla almond milk, fresh pear slices. Amazing.

    And the high muffin top trick – works like a charm girl 😉

    1. That smoothie sounds so good. I’ve been loving smoothies lately since the weather is really starting to warm up down here in FL!

  2. So awesome! Never heard that tip before, but we’re totally going to give it a shot next time we bake some muffins…which will probably be this weekend. 🙂

    Amy, @Chobani

    1. They are great, and you can really see the chunks of pear in the muffins from the yogurt – it’s awesome. Thanks!

  3. I have been looking for a good oatmeal Chobani recipe and this looks great. And the possibilities are endless. I don’t really like the ear one so I was thinking of lemon ones with some blueberries added in.

  4. O.k just made these and NO where in the recipe (except ingredients) did it call for adding the eggs!!! I hope it was o.k to add them in the end!!! I really hope these turn out right!

  5. These look amazing and I can’t wait to try them, even though I’m like you and a little more partial to apples. 😉 Love the temperature trick for the muffins tops though – I can’t wait to try that too!!

    1. I think it must be the fact that we’re from NY — apples > pears. 😉 Definitely try the temperature trick for the muffin tops, it helps them rise up so quickly!

Leave a Reply

