Monster Cookies

Monster cookie top

I can’t believe I’ve never posted a recipe for monster cookies.  I know I’ve made them numerous times, but apparently they’ve been a little blog-shy.  Well, that all changes today, folks.  Because today is the official start of March Madness.

Do you fill out a bracket in March?  Since I bleed orange, I obviously do. 🙂  March madness = college hoops craziness = monster-style cookies!

If you’re not familiar, monster cookies are basically all of your favorite cookies rolled into one.  Literally!  It’s a peanut butter cookie.  It’s a chocolate chip cookie.  It’s an oatmeal raisin cookie.  It’s an M&M cookie.  All. in. one. 🙂

Monster Cookies

OK, I’ll be a bit more descriptive… you start with a good peanut butter cookie dough base.  I used chunky peanut butter, but you can use what you have.  Add oats to that mixture for chewiness, then raisins and chocolate chips, and then the best part… M&Ms!

I believe monster cookie recipes typically call for regular M&Ms.  But I’ve had a giant bag of pretzel M&Ms staring me in the face (well, through the cabinet I stashed them away in an attempt to deter inhaling them) for a few weeks, and knew the best way to put them to use was in cookie form.  So, when I realized March Madness was rapidly approaching, I decided to make an extra special monster cookie.

If these aren’t a cookie fit for March Madness, I don’t know what is!

Monster Cookie LBBakes

[print_this]Monster Cookies

What do you call a cookie that’s loaded with peanut butter, oatmeal, raisins, chocolate chips, and M&Ms?  A monster cookie!  The cookies are crisp and chewy, with tons of texture from all of the mix-ins.

Makes about 3 dozen cookies

Prep time: 15 minutes

Cook time: 10 minutes

  • 3/4 cup chunky peanut butter
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil (or 1/4 cup unsalted butter, softened)
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 cup light brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 cup white whole wheat flour (or all-purpose flour)
  • 1 cup quick cooking oats
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup raisins
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips (any variety)
  • 1 cup pretzel M&Ms, crushed
Heat the oven to 375 degrees F.  Line baking sheets with parchment paper.
In a large mixing bowl, beat the peanut butter, coconut oil, and sugars until creamy.  Add the eggs and vanilla, beating until mixed.
In a large bowl, combine the flour, baking soda, and salt; stir to combine.  Gradually add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients, stirring until mixed.  Stir in the raisins, chocolate chips, and pretzel M&Ms.
Form the cookie dough into 1.5-inch balls (use your hands to do this, or use a cookie scoop).  Set onto the prepared baking sheets about 2 inches apart.  Bake 10 minutes or until the edges are light golden brown.  Allow the cookies to cool 5 minutes before removing from the baking sheets to cool completely.[/print_this]
9 thoughts on “Monster Cookies”

  1. I have never made monster cookies before. I see the monster cookie dip which looks amazing too. Who Hoo for March Madness! So sad to miss some of the games while I am at work tomorrow!

    1. Monster cookie dip?? Gosh, I guess I need to spend some time browsing Pinterest! And I know, I hate missing games when I’m at work or in class… thank goodness for smartphones!

    1. Sally, I can’t even remember the last time I baked with butter! Isn’t that crazy? I’m obsessing way too much with coconut oil, it’s just so awesome. And the fact that you’re not into March madness, well, that probably saves you lots of hours in front of the TV. 🙂

  2. I just made these and they are wonderful!! Mine ended up like cookie balls but we didn’t care…my husband just kept eating them! Thanks for the great recipe 🙂

Leave a Reply

