Mini Cinnamon Buns

Mini Cinnamon Buns top

A few weeks ago, I went a little crazy with a pizza dough sale.  The dough was on sale at Earth Fare for $1 each (a 16-ounce portion), so I grabbed a bunch.  I froze some of the dough, but inevitably, I still had some leftover dough in my fridge that needed using up after a few days.  And that my friends, is when these little cinnamon buns were made.

I hadn’t planned to blog the recipe, but when I tasted one straight out of the oven, I grabbed my iPhone to snap a few pictures.  They were just too good to not share here!

cinnamon buns

Now, if you’re looking for a simple breakfast recipe, this is a true contender for the simplest of them all.  All you need for the cinnamon buns is pizza dough, ground cinnamon, and brown sugar. (!)

I’ve made regular cinnamon rolls before, and honestly, I couldn’t tell a huge difference between those and these.  I suppose the dough is slightly sweeter with “real” cinnamon rolls, but once you get the cinnamon and sugar going, that differentiation is blurred quite a bit. There’s no lack of sweetness going on here!

Mini Cinnamon Buns

I baked the cinnamon buns in a mini muffin tin, which turned out fantastically.  You just place a cinnamon bun in each muffin tin, and when they come out of the oven, flip them upside down to cool slightly.  Then, the fun starts…

The glaze!  Ah.  I think coconut oil is officially my new Greek yogurt.  As in, I’m completely obsessed with it.  I used it for the glaze, along with a bit of water and powdered sugar.

Once your cinnamon buns have cooled slightly, just dip them into the glaze, and you’re all set.

Good luck trying not to eat all of these at once. 😉

Mini Cinnamon Bun center

[print_this]Mini Cinnamon Buns

These bite-sized cinnamon buns are simple to prepare thanks to refrigerated pizza dough.  You can top the cinnamon buns with glaze (see recipe below) or regular buttercream frosting.

Makes about 24

Prep time: 15 minutes

Cook time: 15 minutes

Rolls:

  • 8 ounces pizza dough (at room temperature)
  • 1/2 cup dark brown sugar
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

Glaze:

  • 1 tablespoon coconut oil
  • 1/2 tablespoon water
  • 3 tablespoons powdered sugar

Heat the oven to 350 degrees F.  Spray a mini muffin tin with nonstick cooking spray.

On a lightly floured surface, roll the pizza dough into a rectangle, about 12 inches long by 8 inches wide.  Sprinkle the brown sugar and cinnamon over the pizza dough.  Starting from a long (12-inch) side, roll the dough up tightly into a log.  Use a sharp knife to cut the log into slices (approximately 24, this will be about 1/2-inch slices).

Place the slices into the prepared muffin tin.  Bake for 12 to 15 minutes, or until the edges are light golden brown.  Meanwhile, stir the glaze ingredients in a small bowl; set aside.  Allow the cinnamon buns to cool about 2 minutes, then remove from pan and flip upside down.  Cool an additional 2 minutes.  Dip the cinnamon buns into the glaze, allowing excess to drip off the sides.  Serve the cinnamon buns warm; store leftovers in an airtight container up to two days, or freeze.[/print_this]

11 thoughts on “Mini Cinnamon Buns”

    1. I’m glad you agree! Seriously, I should probably start buying coconuts and pressing my own oil at the frequency I’ve been using it – in everything!

    1. Definitely try freezing it next time! I’m not sure how long it keeps – I usually don’t keep it in there for more than a few weeks. But definitely a $ saver!

    1. Hi Rose – this is a quick, shortcut recipe for cinnamon buns, so I’m not sure there would be a good substitute for pizza dough, unless you make your own yeast dough.

    1. Hi Linda – coconut oil is complex in terms of whether it’s healthy or not. I’m not a nutritionist by any means, so I can’t give you specific information on this, but you can read a good article from the NY Times here, which explains it a bit: http://www.nytimes.com/2011/03/02/dining/02Appe.html?pagewanted=all&_r=0. Basically, you have to be cognizant of the type of coconut oil you consume! I typically use Kelapo or Trader Joe’s, both of which are virgin oils.

Leave a Reply

