Coconut Almond Granola

coconut_almond granola

Mmm.  I may be addicted to coconut oil.  There are worse things in life, right?

I almost always keep a batch of homemade granola around these days, because well, when you’re like me and eat Greek yogurt at least once a day, you need something fun to top it with.  I know you yogurt/granola folks know what I mean.

(case in point, via Instagram):

Quite often when I make granola, I rely on peanut butter as my “fat” of choice to add to the recipe.  Occasionally, I grab canola oil.  But lately, the only thing I want to add to my granola is… yep, you guessed it… coconut oil.

I had seen Courtney post a recipe for a similar granola awhile back, and knew I needed to give my beloved coconut oil a try in a batch of granola.

coconut almond granola

This granola is more “loose” than some other granola recipes (you won’t get big clusters of granola), but that is all made up for with the tropical flavor of the coconut oil.  It is literally one of the best batches of granola I’ve ever made!  I added chopped (lightly salted) almonds and a combination of dried cranberries and blueberries.  It’s slightly sweet and subtly salty, but neither of the two is over the top.

[print_this]Coconut Almond Granola

Coconut oil shines is this recipe, lending the tropical flavor to the granola.  Lightly salted almonds and dried fruit give the granola a sweet and salty taste.  If you’d like, add shredded coconut to the recipe to increase the ‘tropical’ flavor. 

Makes about 3 cups

Prep time: 10 minutes

Cook time: 40 minutes

  • 2 cups rolled oats (old-fashioned, not quick oats)
  • 2 tablespoons chia seeds
  • 1/3 cup chopped almonds
  • 1/3 cup dried fruit
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil
  • 2 tablespoons honey

Heat the oven to 300 degrees F.

Mix the oats, chia, almonds and dried fruit in a mixing bowl.

Combine the coconut oil and honey in a microwave safe bowl.  Microwave 20 to 30 seconds or until the coconut oil is liquid. Pour over the oats; stir until mixed well.

Spread into a baking pan (line it with foil for easy clean up). Bake about 40 minutes, stirring every 10 to 15 minutes.  Allow the granola to cool before storing.[/print_this]

One thought on “Coconut Almond Granola”

Leave a Reply

