Carrot Coconut Pineapple Muffins

Carrot pineapple muffins

I don’t know about you, but I keep forgetting it’s only April.  Maybe it’s the near 90-degree days here in Florida lately, or the fact that it will be “summer” according to my grad school in just three weeks, or the fact that all I want to eat for dinner is salad and ice cream (a sure sign of summer, for me).  All signs are pointing to June/July in my world!

In an effort to “remind” myself it’s still spring, I’m sharing a recipe with one of my favorite springtime ingredients — carrots!  I’ve been grabbing carrots from the farmer’s market lately, since I seem to snack on carrots every day.  But after last weekend’s loot was a bit excessive, I was forced (yes, forced) to bake a batch of carrot muffins.

Carrot coco pineapple muffins

Since I’m obsessed with all-things coconut, I used coconut oil in the recipe, as well as some unsweetened shredded coconut.  The coconut oil added flavor and moisture to the muffins while the shredded coconut joined the shredded carrots in providing lots of texture (while also helping in the moistness department).

A note on the coconut oil: if yours is solid (which happens quite easily in cooler temperatures) just place it in a microwave-safe bowl for 20-30 seconds until its melted, and then allow it to cool a few minutes before adding to the muffin batter.

Not surprisingly, I also used greek yogurt in the muffins.  Pineapple Chobani, to be specific.  Don’t even ask me why or how, of all flavors, a pineapple Chobani yogurt found its way into this recipe.  Maybe it was because I’ve already used the banana, pear, and vanilla flavors in muffin recipes.  I sure am glad I chose pineapple in this recipe — it adds to the subtle “tropical” flavor of the muffin with the coconut.

Carrot Coconut Pineapple Muffins

[print_this]Carrot Coconut Pineapple Muffins

Carrot muffins made with coconut oil, shredded coconut, and pineapple greek yogurt for a tropical twist.  This recipe can be prepared as bread as well — just decrease the oven temperature to 350 and bake 40-50 minutes in a loaf pan.

Makes 12

Prep time: 20 minutes

Cook time: 20 minutes

  • 2 cups white whole wheat flour (or regular all-purpose flour)
  • 2/3 cup brown sugar
  • 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 cups peeled, grated carrots
  • 1/3 cup shredded unsweetened coconut
  • 1 (6-ounce) container Chobani low fat pineapple Greek yogurt
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/3 cup coconut oil
  • 1/4 cup milk

Heat the oven to 400 degrees F.  Line a muffin tin with paper liners.

In a large bowl, stir the flour, sugar, spices, baking powder, and salt.  Stir in the carrots and coconut.  Set aside.

In a separate mixing bowl, stir the remaining ingredients (yogurt, eggs, coconut oil, and milk).  Stir the yogurt mixture into the dry ingredients, mixing until just combined.

Spread the batter into the prepared muffin tins.  Bake 15 to 20 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center of a muffin comes out nearly clean (because of the brown color of these muffins, it’ll be hard to do the typical “until golden brown” test).  Allow the muffins to cool 5 minutes before removing from the pan.  Store the muffins in an airtight container for 2 to 3 days, or freeze.[/print_this]

14 thoughts on “Carrot Coconut Pineapple Muffins”

  1. Dude. I made carrot cake muffins over the weekend but overfilled my cups and they were like exploding mushrooms, not muffins. But they tasted great! But not blog-able. Yours are stunning! Love the coconut & pineapple and the Chob!

    1. Yikes, I hate when that happens! It actually happened to me too a few weeks ago, luckily overflowed muffins still taste great (like you said), and my classmates enjoyed them. 🙂 Remake your carrot muffins soon, I want to see the recipe!

  2. I’m so jealous of you “I keep forgetting it’s only spring” people. Here in western New England, I’m still wearing jeans and sweatshirts. And sometimes a fleece over my sweatshirt. And it snowed last week. Spring, where are you?

    1. Oh, don’t worry, I’ll be joining the “spring, where are you?” crew when I go up to visit NY in two weeks. Please, mother nature, let spring be there by then. 😉

    1. Thanks Sally. And yes, these are very carrot cake like muffins. I actually thought, “If I added frosting, they’d definitely pass as cupcakes.” 🙂 Which is surprising because I used a relatively small amount of sugar!

    1. Hi Romana, sour cream could work as well since it’s a lot like yogurt (use about 3/4 cup sour cream). Or you could just increase the amount of milk to 1/2 cup.

  3. These look really delicious, Liz! Love that there is carrot in them since I always like to sneak some extra veggies in when I can. Yum!

    1. I’m all about sneaking in extra veggies as well — carrot is one of the easiest in baking, I think. Zucchini as well!

Leave a Reply

