Lemon Cranberry White Chocolate Cookies

Lemon Cran White Choc Cookies

When life hands me lemons… I make lemonade cookies. 😉

I had a lemon overstaying its welcome on my kitchen counter last weekend, which, obviously for me, meant it was time to bake something with lemon. 🙂  Whenever I bake with lemon, I’m reminded how much freshness it brings to a recipe.  Need to do it more often!

Lemon Cranberry White Choc Cookies

I came *this close* to baking a lemon quick bread with my spare lemon, but when I realized it’d been forever since I baked a batch of cookies, cookies won.

I had been meaning to bake cranberry + white chocolate chip cookies for some time, and figured adding lemon zest wouldn’t hurt.  Not only did it not hurt, but I’d go so far to say I may never bake “regular” cranberry white chocolate cookies again!

Lemon zest + dried cranberries + white chocolate chips = perfection.  Really, it’s the perfect collision of tart, tangy, and sweet, all in a dense, chewy cookie.

Lemon-cranberry white chocolate cookies

The cookie dough itself comes together in minutes, which I know you all love (me too!).  I chilled my dough overnight before baking the cookies, which I really recommend in order to let the flavors mesh.  Especially in this recipe, with the lemon zest involved.  That said, if you’re in a pinch and need to bake the cookies immediately after prepping the dough, no sweat — they’ll still be great!

Lemon Cranberry White Chocolate Cookies

[print_this]Lemon Cranberry White Chocolate Cookies

Cranberry white chocolate chip cookies with a (zesty) twist — lemon zest!  If you can, prepare the dough in advance and allow it to chill overnight so the flavors can mesh.

Makes about 15 large cookies

Prep time: 15 minutes

Cook time: 10 minutes

  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour (or white whole wheat flour)
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • Zest of one lemon
  • 2/3 cup dried cranberries
  • 1/2 cup white chocolate chips

In a large mixing bowl, beat the butter and sugar until creamy.  Add the eggs; mix until blended.

In a separate mixing bowl, stir the flour, baking soda, salt, and lemon zest.  Gradually add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients, mixing until blended.  Stir in the cranberries and white chocolate.  Place the cookie dough in a covered container; refrigerate overnight or up to 48 hours.

Remove the cookie dough from the refrigerator.  Allow it to sit at room temperature 30 minutes to 1 hour.

Heat the oven to 350 degrees F.  Line cookie sheets with parchment paper.

Use to cookie scoop (I use a two-inch cookie scoop) to form the dough into cookies, placing each cookie about two inches apart on the cookie sheets.  Bake 10 minutes or until the edges are golden brown.  Allow the cookies to cool 5 minutes before removing from cookie sheets to cool completely.[/print_this]

20 thoughts on “Lemon Cranberry White Chocolate Cookies”

    1. They were so soft, I was surprised because I didn’t add the usual yogurt or cornstarch which typically give me soft cookies. Not complaining though!

  1. I just had the most amazing white chocolate cranberry cookies from the grocery store this week. The white chocolate was the size of a golf ball I swear : ) I love the idea of adding lemon zest. I will have to give these a try!

    1. Mmm, now I’m wishing I had used giant chocolate chunks in these. All I had were the regular white chocolate chips. I’ll have to make another batch soon. 🙂

    1. Lemons will obviously be a key item to stock in our someday bakery kitchen. 😉 We haven’t brainstormed ideas for the bakery in months!

  2. I have PLENTY of lemons overstaying their welcome right now Liz! But I am alway son board with lemon desserts. I haven’t made a lemon cookie in a long time. And these look so chewy, soft, and thick. Perfect. Love the white chocolate combination too.

    1. I don’t know what it is, but as soon as spring/summer hits, I crave lemon so much more. I suppose the freshness, etc. Plus, it goes great with berries, which are obviously in their height this time of year. OK, rambling over. Go bake something with lemon!

  3. I have the dough in the fridge. Now I just have to wait for the flavors to mash. I work with a lot of health conscious people and wanted to make them a treat that wasn’t store bought. I’m super excited about this recipe!

    1. Hi Sarah, I love making healthier cookies so that “health conscious” people can enjoy them too! How did you like these?

Leave a Reply

