Veggie Sausage (Vegetarian, Vegan)

veggie sausage instagram lbbakes

Today, I’m interrupting my usual dessert/breakfast/snack recipes for a recipe that’s a bit different.  You know, shakin’ things up a little.  It’s Thursday, and as of today I’m officially done with semester two of my doctoral program!, and I’d say that’s reason enough for a little, funkiness.

I’ve been taunting some of you on Instagram (@lbbakes) over the past few weeks with this amazing Italian sausage, so I thought I’d round up those Instagrammed photos and share the recipe.  It’s meatless, and vegan.  And it’s virtually gluten free.**

Veggie sausage sandwich

I should clarify: I don’t follow a vegetarian, vegan, or gluten free diet.  Although I do believe it’s been over a month since I last ate meat, if you put a burger in front me, I’ll eat it.  Especially if there’s feta cheese involved.  Anyway.  I also definitely don’t follow a vegan diet (my life diet revolves around yogurt!) nor a gluten free diet.

But let me tell you, you’re not going to miss any meat, dairy, or gluten in this recipe.  In my opinion, when it comes to sausage, it’s alllll in the spices.  Specifically, the bold, aromatic flavor of crushed fennel seeds, and sweet and smokiness of paprika.

Veggie sausage baked penne

One thing to note: since there’s no casing involved with this recipe, you’re not going to get the same ‘snap’ you’d get with regular sausage.  I don’t know about you, but I’ll take natural ingredients and simplicity over that any day.

True to my baking and cooking motto, there’s nothing complex about preparing this recipe.  I’d say the most troublesome task is crushing the fennel seeds.  If you have a spice grinder, you’re golden.  I used a rolling pin and my upper body strength (thanks, swimming!).

So far, I’ve enjoyed it as a simple sandwich/wrap, in baked penne, stir fry, and even chopped up in omelets!  I really think the options are endless here.  I can’t wait to make other versions of this recipe!

Veggie sausage stir fry

[print_this]Vegetarian Sausage (Vegetarian, vegan)

Makes 5 links

Prep time: 20 minutes

Cook time: varies

Spices:

  • 1 1/2 teaspoons garlic powder
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons fennel, crushed
  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons paprika
  • 1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried basil

Sausage:

  • 1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/2 cup finely chopped mushrooms
  • 1/2 cup finely chopped onion
  • 1/4 cup finely chopped bell pepper
  • 1 15-ounce can black eyed peas or white beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons tomato paste
  • 1/4 cup nutritional yeast
  • 1/2 cup brown rice flour
  • 1 teaspoon guar gum (or xanthan gum)
  • 2 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce**

Combine the spices in a small bowl; stir until mixed.  Set aside.

Heat the oil in a frying pan over medium heat.  Saute the mushrooms, onion, and pepper until tender.  Set aside to cool slightly.

In a large mixing bowl, use clean hands to mash the black eyed peas (you can also use a food processor – just make sure you don’t completely puree, you’ll want a mix of pureed and whole peas).  Add the tomato paste, nutritional yeast, flour, guar gum, and Worcestershire sauce; mix until well blended.  Add the sauteed veggies and spice mixture; mix until combined.

Divide the mixture into 5 or 6 equal portions, forming each portion into a sausage link.  The links can be cooked and served immediately, however I strongly recommend wrapping them in foil and freezing them first.  Cooking the links straight from the freezer helps them retain their shape as they cook.

Adapted from this recipe.[/print_this]

**Not all Worcestershire sauce is not gluten free, so if you are making this recipe gluten free, be sure yours is.

8 thoughts on “Veggie Sausage (Vegetarian, Vegan)”

    1. Thanks, Sally! It’s really great, the flavor is all in the spices and the consistency is pretty close to the real deal!

Leave a Reply

