Blueberry Corn Muffins

Blueberry Corn Muffins LBBakes

Happy Monday!  I hope your weekend was as laid back and leisurely as mine was.  Honestly, I don’t think I’ve had a weekend so full of nothingness (read: no school work!) since December.  I’m enjoying a brief break from grad school while I can. 🙂  I cannot tell you how good it feels to have time to read blogs, go for long runs, enjoy some sun, etc.

Another thing I seem to be doing more of while my work pace has slowed… brainstorming new recipes to try (so obvious, I know).  Really though, it’s so nice to be able to redirect my creative energies toward recipes for a change.  Be on the lookout for some good ones to come!  Beginning with these blueberry corn muffins.

blueberry corn muffins

There’s really nothing too crazy about this recipe, just two of my favorite muffins rolled into one.  I fell in love with corn muffins back in college, and blueberry muffins are, well, just a classic that I’ve enjoyed forever (haven’t we all?).  It only seemed right to team the two up and see what happened…

BlueberryCorn Muffins

Good things, that’s what happened. 😉

The muffins are crumbly yet moist, and subtly sweet, just like you’d expect with a regular corn muffin.  But then, just about every bite, you’re greeted with the fresh, sweet burst of juicy blueberry.  I guess I ought to “team up” recipes more often!

Blueberry Corn Muffins _ LBBakes

[print_this]Blueberry Corn Muffins

Two great muffins in one!  Blueberries are folded into corn muffin batter, making for a subtly sweet, moist corn muffin with juicy blueberries throughout.  If using frozen berries, do not thaw before adding to the batter (fold frozen berries directly into the batter).

Makes 12

Prep time: 10 minutes

Cook time: 20 minutes

  • 1 1/2 cups white whole wheat flour (or regular all-purpose flour)
  • 1/2 cup cornmeal
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup milk
  • 2 tablespoons canola oil
  • 1 large egg + 1 egg white
  • 1 cup fresh or frozen blueberries
  • 1 tablespoon  flour

Heat the oven to 400 degrees F.  Line a muffin tin with paper liners.

In a large mixing bowl, stir the flour, cornmeal, sugar, baking powder, and salt.  Make a well in the center of the bowl; add the milk, oil, egg and egg white to the well, mixing those ingredients until blended, then mix the entire bowl, until just combined.

In a small bowl, toss the blueberries with the 1/2 tablespoon flour, coating the berries.  Add the berries to the batter, stirring until just mixed (mixing too much will give you blue batter!).

Divide the mixture into the prepared muffin tin.  Bake the muffins 15 to 20 minutes, or until the muffins are golden brown.  Allow the muffins to cool 5 minutes before removing from the pan to cool completely.  Store the muffins in an airtight container 2 to 3 days, or freeze.[/print_this]

13 thoughts on “Blueberry Corn Muffins”

  1. Corn bread is my favorite…and this sounds like a perfect mix of a blueberry muffin & corn bread muffin. YUM! Pinning so I can make this week 😉

    1. Ooo, try it! The batter might be a little thicker, but it’s such a small amount I bet it’s fine. I typically have such good luck substituting greek yogurt for fats like oil and butter.

      1. LIZ! Meant to tell you- I made these last week- & used the blueberry chobani for oil. I also left out the sugar, only because of the sugar in the yogurt. I actually served these with dinner, it was a big salad, and they were SO GOOD! Craig even ate THREE! I would say they are a winner 😀

      2. OK, now I need to try making these again with a blueberry chobani and no sugar! Blueberry is one of my favorite flavors!

    1. The only reason I thought of it was because I was going to make corn muffins, and blueberry muffins, and then thought, why not combine them? 🙂

    1. Oh, he’d definitely love these muffins then! You should definitely try adding fruit to corn muffins/bread — my next version will include raspberries, I think. 🙂

    1. Berries aren’t looking great where I am yet — but luckily there are frozen berries. I am so excited for blueberry picking season, though!

Leave a Reply

