Browned Butter Peanut Butter Cookies

Browned butter peanut butter cookies

Get ready, you guys.  I’ve been on a bit of a cookie baking spree lately.  There are worse things in life, we all know this.

So far this morning I’ve already whipped up two different cookie doughs (it’s not even 8am yet!) and I’ve got plans to keep going. #ThingsIDoOnVacation. 😉

Anyway… the batch of cookies I’m sharing here today is actually one I made last week.  I wanted to make a simple peanut butter cookie, but then I saw that I had half a stick of butter sitting the fridge, all by its lonesome.  Call me crazy, but I’m pretty sure it said, “browned butter time!” to me. 😉

Peanut butter cookies with browned butter

Thus, “simple” peanut butter cookies became just slightly more complex (but so much better!) with the addition of browned butter.  I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, browned butter makes everything better.

After easily whipping up the cookie dough, I allowed it to chill overnight.  This is something I frequently do but often forget to mention here on the blog (I did talk about it last week with my lemon cranberry white chocolate chip cookies though).  Why?  Well, chilling the dough allows the flavors to “mesh.”  Plus, I think breaking up baking into separate quick parts (like mixing the dough one day, and baking the cookies another day) makes baking a breeze. 

Browned butter peanut butter cookie lbbakes

I made the cookies large, rolling the dough into about two-inch rounds before baking, then pressing down on the cookies slightly to flatten a bit.  But if you’d like a smaller cookie, just form the cookie dough into smaller rounds.  Either way, you can’t beat the chewy texture and nutty, caramel-like flavor!

[print_this]Browned Butter Peanut Butter Cookies

A simple peanut butter cookie, made with browned butter allowing for an extra nutty, almost caramel-like flavor.  If possible, chill the dough overnight before baking the cookies.

Makes 1 dozen large cookies

Prep time: 20 minutes

Cook time: ~15 minutes

  • 1/4 cup unsalted butter (browned and cooled)
  • 2/3 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 2 tablespoons milk
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup white whole wheat flour (or regular all-purpose flour)

Heat the oven to 350 degrees F.  Line cookie sheets with parchment paper.

In a large mixing bowl, beat the butter, peanut butter, and sugar.  Add the egg and milk; stir until mixed.  Stir in the baking powder and salt, ensuring to mix well, then stir in the flour.

Form the cookie dough into 1-inch balls for regular cookies, or 2-inch balls for large cookies.  Place on the cookie sheets at least two inches apart.  Press on the balls slightly to flatten.  Bake regular-sized cookies 10 to 12 minutes, or large cookies 15 minutes, until edges are golden brown.  Allow the cookies to cool 5 minutes before removing from cookie sheet to cool completely.

This is an original recipe from www.littlebittybakes.com.

[/print_this]

3 thoughts on “Browned Butter Peanut Butter Cookies”

Leave a Reply

